amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Amilo m3438g CPU socket

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

Amilo m3438g CPU socket

Postby pipposanta » Wed May 17, 2006 11:15 am

Hi,
what kind of socket has the cpu of m3438g? 478 or 479?
pipposanta
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:22 pm

Postby Rocco » Wed May 17, 2006 1:37 pm

the notebook has a CPU socket 478.

Rocco
User avatar
Rocco
Former moderator
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Weißensee
Notebook:
  • Amilo M1437
  • Amilo M3438

Postby pipposanta » Wed May 17, 2006 1:38 pm

OK Thank you
pipposanta
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:22 pm

Postby Luk4S » Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:58 pm

Rocco wrote:the notebook has a CPU socket 478.

Rocco


CPUZ ... mPGA-479M

It's 479 not 478
Luk4S
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:40 pm

Postby Rocco » Mon Jun 12, 2006 2:35 pm

@Luk4s
CPUZ ... mPGA-479M

It's 479 not 478


your answer is not correct. the cpu socket is a 478-socket.

the program possibly recognizes the socket wrongly.

Rocco
User avatar
Rocco
Former moderator
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Weißensee
Notebook:
  • Amilo M1437
  • Amilo M3438

Postby Luk4S » Mon Jun 12, 2006 2:55 pm

Rocco wrote:@Luk4s
CPUZ ... mPGA-479M

It's 479 not 478


your answer is not correct. the cpu socket is a 478-socket.

the program possibly recognizes the socket wrongly.

Rocco


Are you sure? So is it possible to mount also a desktop CPU??
Luk4S
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:40 pm

Postby Rocco » Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:32 pm

You are right that a regular destop Pentium 4 processor although uses 478 pins. But this is only the mechanical layout. Keep in mind that a mobile processor requires another voltage than a desktop CPU. Therefore I cannot tell you if the notebook will be able to address this CPU with the correct voltage because it has never been tested.

Rocco
User avatar
Rocco
Former moderator
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Weißensee
Notebook:
  • Amilo M1437
  • Amilo M3438

Postby HyperMuse » Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:38 am

The socket of all Pentiums M is 479....478 is only for desktops!!
HyperMuse
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:35 am
Location: Italy
Notebook:
  • Amilo M3438

Postby Luk4S » Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:39 am

HyperMuse wrote:The socket of all Pentiums M is 479....478 is only for desktops!!


Hey HyperMuse :-) ti mando le foto in alta risoluzione. Lasciami la tua mail in privato :-)
Luk4S
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:40 pm

Postby HyperMuse » Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:40 am

che foto scusa??
HyperMuse
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:35 am
Location: Italy
Notebook:
  • Amilo M3438

Postby Luk4S » Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:42 am

HyperMuse wrote:che foto scusa??


per aprire l'amilo
Luk4S
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:40 pm

Postby Rocco » Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:24 am

DT CPU has LGA775 socket which could not be fit into P71EN0. At the same time, architecture are also different. Socket 478/479 is the common naming of CPU socket. They are all the same. In order to support different type CPU such as Intel Pentium-M 755 or Intel Core Due T2500, there is one pin different in the CPU socket in order to avoid wrong insertion. There is no difference on CPU Power definition.

Rocco
User avatar
Rocco
Former moderator
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Weißensee
Notebook:
  • Amilo M1437
  • Amilo M3438

Postby pipposanta » Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:46 am

Rocco wrote:DT CPU has LGA775 socket which could not be fit into P71EN0. At the same time, architecture are also different. Socket 478/479 is the common naming of CPU socket. They are all the same. In order to support different type CPU such as Intel Pentium-M 755 or Intel Core Due T2500, there is one pin different in the CPU socket in order to avoid wrong insertion. There is no difference on CPU Power definition.

So I can use a dual-core cpu on the amilo m3438g?
pipposanta
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:22 pm

Postby Borkar » Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:02 am

pipposanta wrote:So I can use a dual-core cpu on the amilo m3438g?
The answer is simply no!
Even if it was possible to insert the dual core CPU hardware to the given socket, you would need a different/updated BIOS to support the new CPU. Uniwill will never release such a BIOS and I have never heard of someone who was successful with modifying the BIOS of Uniwill notebooks.

Regards
Borkar
Image ..... It works, if you do it right! ;)
User avatar
Borkar
Moderator
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany

Postby pipposanta » Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:08 am

But if something can modify the bios we can use dual core cpu?
This is cool! :D
pipposanta
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:22 pm

Next

Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron