amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Amilo M7405 Modem problem

All kinds of problems or malfunctions without known reason. Also general problems with the notebook as a whole.

Amilo M7405 Modem problem

Postby Andya » Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:17 am

Hi All,

I originally posted the same question over at the FSC forums but never received an answer. Hope you can help?

Having installed Win XP Pro on the Amilo M7405 everything other than the internal modem works fine. The modem itself is not recognised, cannot be installed by using the software / drivers supplied and cannot be installed by using the "add hardware" facility within Control Panel.

FSC have not been able to help as they say XP Pro is not supported, likewise, Microsoft won't touch it and instead refer me back to the OEM.

Not sure this is related, but as there no com ports present or seen within device manager, perhaps the system refuse to accept installation of the modem without their presence?

Maybe, also a BIOS upgrade is needed (?), but am already using the latest as found on the FSC website.

Thank you all in advance.

Andy
Andya
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:08 am
Location: England, UK
Notebook:
  • M7405

Postby aspettl » Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:21 pm

Hi Andy

A com port is not required, a BIOS update shouldn't be necessary, too.
I guess you don't have an option "disable onboard modem" in your BIOS? Make sure to reload the BIOS defaults, then we don't have to consider this being a BIOS issue anymore.

In your device manager in Windows, is there any unknown device? (I suppose not, but to be sure ;-)
Maybe in failsafe mode?

Before you installed XP Pro, everything did work fine?

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Amilio M7405 Modem problem

Postby Andya » Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:42 pm

Hello Aaron,

In answer to your questions:

1. Everything worked fine before upgrading to Win XP
2. Bios defaults have been loaded
3. There are no unlisted devices or any with exclamation marks
in the device manager

For all intents and purposes it looks like the modem has failed, except, i have seen similar posts on the FSC forum describing something similar from other users. Also, the fact that FSC state that the laptop is not compatible with Win XP Pro leads me to think there is something else going on. However, perhaps i should have read the notes closely before spending money on Win XP Pro?

Maybe this is a PCI Bridge issue?

I'm at a loss but hopefully someone can make a radical suggestion to help get it working again.

Thanks Aaron!

Personal Regards

Andy
Andya
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:08 am
Location: England, UK
Notebook:
  • M7405

Re: Amilio M7405 Modem problem

Postby aspettl » Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:59 pm

Andya wrote:Also, the fact that FSC state that the laptop is not compatible with Win XP Pro leads me to think there is something else going on.

That's the default answer if someone uses something else than XP Home. Every hardware from XP Home works in XP Pro, too.

Did you try to start Windows in failsafe mode?

In the German forum I found a similar thread, but there wasn't a solution :-(

Do you have the possibilty to install XP Home parallel to XP Pro on a second partition? So we could check if it works with a new XP Home installation. If yes, then remove the XP Home und install a fresh XP Pro and try it there with the same procedure.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Amilo M7405 Modem Problem

Postby Andya » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:31 pm

Hello Aaron,

I tried booting up in Safe Mode last night but still couldn't load the software or get the modem to be recognised. Interestingly, i could not get the add hardware function to manually install the modem by directing it to the *.INF file. XP Pro refused to recognise (?) the INF file so i was unable to proceed further.

Unfortunately i no longer have the original Dutch copy of XP Home.

I have everything backed up on a remote drive, so all i can try doing is to format the drive and re-install XP Pro but am not sure this will prove anything.

I've heard some horror stories of users returning their laptops for service only to have them returned scratched or broken. If it comes to this, our company deal with FSC (not selling laptops!) so i could try taking it with me to one of their repairers in Augsburg the next time i visit on business.

Whatever the outcome, Aaron, my thanks for trying to help me resolve this issue!

Thank you again

Personal Regards

Andy
Andya
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:08 am
Location: England, UK
Notebook:
  • M7405

Postby Borkar » Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:15 am

make sure you have the servicepack 2 installed.
Do you still have the Drivers&Utility DVD? If yes, use the automatic update function of this cd. You can also search for Windows Updates that wouldn't be installed by the automatic update function of windows on the cd. But there shouldnt be any.
Update your BIOS (see the related sticky thread in the forum) and load setup defaults.
Make a hardware reset (see the hardware FAQs in the forum).

Reinstall Windows.

If this does not work, you have to call the support. It is possible that your modem is broken.

Regards
Borkar
Image ..... It works, if you do it right! ;)
User avatar
Borkar
Moderator
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany

Amilo M7405 Modem problem

Postby Andya » Tue Jun 27, 2006 8:02 pm

Hello Borkar,

Thanks for the recommendations. I have SP2 and all updates, including FSC last BIOS update. Are there unofficial releases for M7405?

I have the Driver/Utilities CD, somewhere - that's the problem, trying to find everything. However i have run Desk update on the FSC website and confirmed all drivers are the latest.

Can i trouble you to put the links up on the hardware section for the hardware reset?

Thanks Borkar, much appreciate your sugestions.

Lastly - i commend your efforts with FSC trying to get the raid problem fixed by FSC on one of their laptops. Good luck!

Personal Regards

Andy
Andya
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:08 am
Location: England, UK
Notebook:
  • M7405

Postby Borkar » Tue Jun 27, 2006 10:01 pm

topic,11,-Hardware-F-A-Q.html

As I said, it might be that it is broken :?

Regards
Borkar
Image ..... It works, if you do it right! ;)
User avatar
Borkar
Moderator
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany


Return to General problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron