amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

The Right CPU/Ram for Amilo 3438G upgrade? Pleas help! Topic is solved

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

The Right CPU/Ram for Amilo 3438G upgrade? Pleas help!  Topic is solved

Postby gelkoppe » Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:53 pm

I have an amilo 3438G and i would like to upgrade it for use with windows vista and to make it faster. i'm a complete hardware noob and i don't know what to buy. by looking around in the forum and on the net i think i'm starting to understand...

i found this cpu for 66 euro's somewhere, can i use it? and is it better than the 1.70 ghz i have now? will it make a difference?
http://processorfinder.intel.com/Detail ... &OrdCode=#

and what ram do i need? some guy told me i need to get 2 kingston KFJ-FPC165/1G ram pieces. or does anny pc2 4200 go for this amilo? i don't quite understand this..
gelkoppe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:28 pm

Re: The Right CPU/Ram for Amilo 3438G upgrade? Pleas help!

Postby aspettl » Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:01 pm

gelkoppe wrote:I have an amilo 3438G and i would like to upgrade it for use with windows vista and to make it faster.

Upgrading RAM should be enough (at least 1G for Vista). Then you'll see if it ok or not :-)

But please consider the problem that your fan will be constantly running when using Vista on an Amilo M 3438.
And if you want to make your laptop faster, Vista isn't really helping in that matter either ;-)

gelkoppe wrote:i found this cpu for 66 euro's somewhere, can i use it? and is it better than the 1.70 ghz i have now? will it make a difference?
http://processorfinder.intel.com/Detail ... &OrdCode=#

Won't work, this is a Pentium 4 M. You need a Pentium M.

gelkoppe wrote:and what ram do i need? some guy told me i need to get 2 kingston KFJ-FPC165/1G ram pieces. or does anny pc2 4200 go for this amilo? i don't quite understand this..

Any DDR2 RAM for laptops should work.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby gelkoppe » Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:49 pm

ok thanx :) i have all the info i need ^^

i'm allready using vista ultimate and it works good, only kinda slow so i'll upgrade from 1 to 2 gig ram :) and that fan thing i allready noticed. kinda strange i think.. maybe it'll be fixed in the future..

grtz
Jeroen
gelkoppe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:28 pm


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron