amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Amilo Pro V3205 CPU upgrade options

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

Amilo Pro V3205 CPU upgrade options

Postby davkt » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:43 am

Hi All,
My Amilo Pro has a T2050 1.6Ghz core 2 CPU. Just wondering if anyone knows if its a) possible to swap the CPU in this lappy and b) if it is what processors will it support?
Cheers
David
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Postby aspettl » Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:51 am

I found the V3205 in a shop with Core 2 Duo T5300, but chances are good that a better one will also work.

It's also sold with a T2350.

Are you sure that you need a CPU upgrade? A T2050 should be fast enough for most applications...

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby davkt » Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 pm

Found a T5500 for under £30 so will give that a go, just fancy playing with some 64 bit OSs!
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Postby Itanium » Sun Dec 09, 2007 6:34 pm

Just have in mind that this processor has about 10W in addition to your present maximal power consumption. So new problem could arise....
User avatar
Itanium
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Notebook:
  • M1437

Postby davkt » Sun Dec 09, 2007 7:07 pm

Itanium wrote:Just have in mind that this processor has about 10W in addition to your present maximal power consumption. So new problem could arise....

Will see how it goes before I off load the old CPU, though as the latest BIOS update for the 3205 was specifically to support this CPU and its 1.8Ghz cousin I guess Fujitsu think it is OK!
Cheers
David
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Postby Itanium » Mon Dec 10, 2007 2:42 pm

It's right to think that the power supply has some standartly unused potential, but wheather it's so...
Post some results later.
Greetings!
User avatar
Itanium
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Notebook:
  • M1437

Postby davkt » Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:38 pm

Certainly will, cpu here now so will install it soon!
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Postby davkt » Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:01 pm

Well this cool little lappy has had its brain transplant and now has a T5500 core 2 duo 1.66GHz cpu.
Not much to report yet as its only just been rebooted after the swap about 15 min ago. Fan doesn't seem to working any harder than before and the lappy doesn't feel to be running any warmer.
It was a dead easy upgrade to do. Just half a dozen screws to remove and replace to do the swap, all easily accessible under the big cover on the bottom, in fact a whole lot easier a cpu swap than on a load of desktops I've upgraded.
Just waiting for its new bigger hdd to turn up and it'll be all set for the future, think I'll have a play with Solaris 10 and maybe even try it as a hackintosh!
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Postby Itanium » Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:43 am

Happy to hear! My be you can try some high loading test to verify... :idea:
User avatar
Itanium
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Notebook:
  • M1437

Postby davkt » Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:44 pm

Itanium wrote:Happy to hear! My be you can try some high loading test to verify... :idea:


Its running 100% cpu load number crunching BOINC science and all going smooth!
Just waiting on a SATA usb housing to show so I cam mirror the HDD onto a bigger one and I'll stick (at least) Solaris and a 64 bit Linux on it, maybe OSX as well :wink:
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Postby davkt » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:51 pm

Well a week in and I'd say the lappy runs cooler with the new CPU than with the old one. Battery life seems about the same just waiting on the new HDD (Amazon advertised generic SATA II 300mbps and supplied a SATA 150mbps so just waiting for the right one to show) then will try it on a 64 bit OS or two.
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Re: Amilo Pro V3205 CPU upgrade options

Postby psr » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:04 am

hi

I have amilo pro 3205 with core2duo t5600 and 2 GB of ram . i want to know is there any way to upgrade cpu to t7200?
one of my friend tell me that is very hard to change laptop cpu.
amilo pro data sheet wrote 3205 support t7200.

thanks
psr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Amilo Pro V3205 CPU upgrade options

Postby davkt » Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:39 am

Dead easy to upgrade the CPU on my V3205, your friend probably said that because many laptops have the CPU soldered to the montherboard, the V3205 is in a socket so no more difficult to swap than a desktop CPU. Just remove the cover on the base that gives access to the memory slots and the likes then unscrew the 3 or 4 screws that hold the CPU fan in place and remove it and you have access to the CPU, literally a job that can be done in 5 minutes!
davkt
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:33 am

Re: Amilo Pro V3205 CPU upgrade options

Postby psr » Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:57 pm

thank you davkt for your reply.

any one know t7200 price ?
psr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Amilo Pro V3205 CPU upgrade options

Postby tyr » Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:05 am

hi! i bad speak english, but i try post comment (i hope you understand me). dear friends, are you think about cpu sockets? socket-p is not swapable to socket-m. imho, this notebook support ONLY cpu's with socket-m. Then it not accepted T7200 :cry:
games, boxes and the guru meditation
User avatar
tyr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:06 pm
Location: SPb
Notebook:

Next

Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron