amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Amilo A1650 and vista home premium ? ? ?

All problems with windows and windows drivers.

Amilo A1650 and vista home premium ? ? ?

Postby rxkevco » Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:48 pm

Hi all,,,
This is my first post on the forum ! !

I have an amilo A1650 which i have successfully ran as a Daw running Cubase for music recording for the last 3 yrs with win xp pro as OS.

As i have now turned over the music recording to a specially designed desktop unit i have decided to reformat my amilo, and put on vista as the new OS.

Its installed successfully and all appears to be working as it should apart from two of the most important functions,,, :x

1/ There is no sound at all,, and further investigations in device manager tells me that there are no sound devices or drivers installed.

2/ The wi fi button doesnt enable wi fi,, and neither does using the corresponding Fkey. When looking for a network, vista cant find one,, even though my BT home hub is sitting on the same table as the laptop.
I cant get any form of internet connection at all,, even using a ethernet cable ! ! :shock:

I have tried to resolve these issues by downloading the XP drivers for the realtec 97 audio, and also the gemtrek drivers for the wi fi.

Unfortunatly,, neither of these downloads or drivers have resolved the issues... :cry:

Has anyone successfully used Vista on an Amilo A1650,, or am i wasting my time trying,

Would really appreciate some guidance and support on these problems,,

I very much look forward to any replies,
Many, many thanks, kev.
rxkevco
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:31 pm

Postby rxkevco » Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:13 pm

Just thought i would post back to say that i now have sound working properly after re installing the realtek ac97 audio drivers a 2nd time ,,,, 8)

Unfortunatly,, i still cant find a network or get the wireless buttons to enable wi fi !

PLEASE,,, help, am going crazy with this !
rxkevco
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:31 pm

Postby aspettl » Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:06 pm

You can activate wireless in your BIOS, if there's an option. Else you can install Launchmanager and run it in compatibility mode.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby rxkevco » Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:27 pm

Hi Aaron,,,
Many thanks for your prompt reply !

I have already been into the Bios and wireless was already enabled.

I have just downloaded launch manager ( the latest version ), but nothing appears to have changed at all,
i am still not able to enable wifi using the F key or the quick launch button,,in fact when windows searches for a network, it cant find any ! !

Am not sure about running in compatibility mode,, whats compatibility mode and how do i set it up ? ? ?

Many thanks,, kev
rxkevco
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:31 pm

Postby aspettl » Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:23 am

rxkevco wrote:Am not sure about running in compatibility mode,, whats compatibility mode and how do i set it up ? ? ?

http://lifehacker.com/software/vista/ho ... 251492.php

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby rxkevco » Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:37 am

Nope,, still no joy,,,! !
Have had enough already so am going back to trusty old xp pro !

Many thanks for trying to help though,, much appreciated, regards ,kev
rxkevco
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:31 pm


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests