amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Ram upgrade Amilo Pro V3515 Topic is solved

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

Ram upgrade Amilo Pro V3515  Topic is solved

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:36 pm

Hi all,

I've Amilo PRO V3515 and was thinking about upgrading RAM. I was thinking about buying one 512DDR, will it fit? I've no clue how does it look inside this laptop, how many free slots does it have? I was browsing through Siemens Fujitsu website but couldn't find anything except general info. I would really appreciate answer about what memory upgrades available and so on...
Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:38 pm

Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby aspettl » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:22 pm

Technical data is ok, but I'd recommend brands instead of noname products.

Huski wrote:how many free slots does it have?

There are two slots - but often both are used, so it's possible that you would have to remove one.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:31 pm

Big thanks for comprehensive replay :D and thanks for looking at the links. BTW, is the any way I can check how slots are used without opening the laptop's cover?
Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby hikaru » Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:08 pm

You can use a system-analysis-tool like Everest to check if you have one or two modules installed.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:29 pm

Thanks man! Will try to find sth similar that does not require installation... :)
Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:47 pm

For ppl having similar problems I found some "system scan" from company named Crucial: http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/ it works without installation and shows type of memory banks installed. Any way, it shows that I've two banks 512 MB each, that, frankly, sucks a little coz one 1GB would be better. Any way, what are the options right now? Can I buy on 1GB card and install it beside the one 512 that I already have, will system combine it together and have 1,5GB (minus 256 allocated for graphics) or do cards have to be of the same capacity and I'll have to buy two 1GB to really increase the RAM? BTW, the technical specification says that 2GB is maximum RAM capacity, whereas system scan from crucial says it's 4GB...

BTW, crucial memory scan results attached.
Attachments
crucial_memory_scan_results.png
Crucial Memory Scan Results
Last edited by Huski on Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby aspettl » Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:07 pm

Huski wrote:Can I buy on 1GB card and install it beside the one 512 that I already have, will system combine it together and have 1,5GB (minus 256 allocated for graphics)

Should work. Of course incompatibilities are always possible...
Two identical modules are better in the sense that it'll work more likely - and in dual channel mode (but that doesn't improve speed much).
Regarding the current prices, I'd recommend to put in 2 x 1 GB if you don't want to buy a new laptop in half a year or so ;-)

Huski wrote:BTW, the technical specification says that 2GB is maximum RAM capacity, whereas system scan from crucial says it's 4GB...

2 x 1 GB is the maximum.

Edit:
You can attach images in this forum.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:37 pm

aspettl wrote:I'd recommend to put in 2 x 1 GB if you don't want to buy a new laptop in half a year or so ;-)

Agreee with that, will search for some cheap RAM on eBay. Summing up, any two DDR2 PC2-4200 1GB shall fit? Huge thanks for all the replays and help.
Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:47 pm

Does it make any difference if I get two from various manufacturers?
Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby aspettl » Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:01 pm

It's best to use two identical modules and a brand like Infineon/Qimonda, Samsung, Kingston, Micron, Hynix, MDT.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:48 pm

OK, will remember that. Thanks once again. For others interested in the topic, website with spare parts to various laptops ...
Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515

Postby Huski » Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:25 am

Regards
Huski
User avatar
Huski
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: EU
Notebook:
  • AMILO PRO v3515


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron