amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

L7300 CPU Upgrade

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

L7300 CPU Upgrade

Postby fothsn » Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:51 pm

Hey Every1 :D Im having trouble trying to find a CPU upgrade for my Amilo L7300, it currently has a Celeron 1.5 m chip and im less than satisfied with its performance, I have used CPU-Z to find out its socket which its states its 479, what is the max CPU speed the motherboard will support also will it take a pentium m and a centrino chip?

Thanks. :D
fothsn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:44 pm

Postby aspettl » Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:51 pm

Yes, it will take a Pentium M. You need one with 400 MHs FSB, that means a 7x5 model.
(Centrino = Pentium M + Intel Chipset + Intel WLAN)

But I remember some issues with the L7300 on the German forum regarding CPU upgrade: Some users had processors with balls instead of pins. You should check that.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby fothsn » Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:42 pm

Just an update guys on my CPU upgrade on my Amilo L7300,

I purchased A Pentium M 1.7Ghz Specs Below:-

Pentium M 1.7Ghz/600Mhz Centrino
Socket 478pin
Code Name Banias
Technology 0.13
Bus Speed 400Mhz
Level 2 Cache 1024 KBytes

All I can say is WOW the upgrade was a quick 5 minuit job, the laptop booted up with no problems at all, ive benchmarked the chip to see if it was stable enough to run and it passed it with ease :D the laptop seems to run twice as quick multitasking/encoding etc.

Running at full Load the CPU temp dosent reach above 70c so the cooling is more than up to the job :lol:

Over all it was definatley worth the upgrade :D its no gaming machine but it runs very quick :twisted:



My Amilo L7300 specs

Pentium M 1.7Ghz
100Gig HDD 5400RPM
1Gig DDR Ram
S3G Graphics
Lovley 15" WXGA


Thanks Nigel.
fothsn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:44 pm

Postby shorty502 » Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:50 pm

What kind of CPU did you buy?

A Pentium M735?

I'm planning to do the same with my L7300, because the Celeron processor really sucks.
shorty502
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: Denmark
Notebook:
  • L7300

Postby aspettl » Sun Oct 01, 2006 1:52 pm

I see I forgot to answer :oops: :
It should fit.

Just make sure you have pins:
aspettl wrote:Some users had processors with balls instead of pins. You should check that.


Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby shorty502 » Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:20 pm

It's alright! :D
When I install the new ram I have just purchased, I will take a look.

In theory, if it has pins, I should be able to install all Pentium M processors as long they are 400 mhz?

It would be really cool to get my fingers on the 755 og 765 (if they fit), but at the moment, the 735 is the best option (price vs. performance)

I just looked at a price index here in Denmark, the 735 is way cheaper than the 725, almost 40 euros :shock:
shorty502
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: Denmark
Notebook:
  • L7300

Postby aspettl » Sun Oct 01, 2006 4:00 pm

shorty502 wrote:I should be able to install all Pentium M processors as long they are 400 mhz?

Yes.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Socket and chipset

Postby jagoman » Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:26 pm

Hi there!
I have an amilo L7300, with VIA PM880 chipset, socket 479, celeron M 360J 1,4GHz FSB400 processor. Would this upgrade work for me too?
I ask because you didn't give the chipsets you have.
And also I could read that someone bought a 478 Socket CPU. Does it work with socket 479?
Thanks
jagoman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:22 pm

Postby aspettl » Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:02 am

Every L7300 has the same chipset. You need a socket 479 cpu (but it has 478 pins, thus the confusion ;-)).

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

will it work?

Postby jagoman » Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:14 pm

I have found a Pentium M 735A porcessor. The only difference from normal 735 is that it has the Execute Disable Bit option. Will it work? I suppose so for the 360J has also this option.
jagoman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:22 pm

A question!

Postby jagoman » Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:05 pm

I have a question regarding this update.
Is it preferred to upgrade with a Dothan kern so 90nm based processor, or a 0,13 micron banias.
Which would be better regarding performance and battey life-time?
The Banias-es have also 2M L2 or just 1M L2?
Thanks
jagoman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:22 pm

Postby aspettl » Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:42 pm

Banias has only 1 MB cache, Dothan is faster and consumes less power under high cpu load.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby jagoman » Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:54 pm

Thanks. Now I have to decide for which to go. Please post some opinions. Those who have opted for a Banias and DOthan. Or even some test results with certain cpu testing programs.
Is it worth for the money difference between a Dothan an Banias?
Does the Banias with only 1MB L2 really better as the Celeron M at the same frequency?
Thanks for your help.
jagoman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:22 pm

Postby Ashrich » Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:30 pm

I posted a similar question to this not too long ago on this forum only with an Amilo v2010 , virtually the same laptop with the same motherboard and tried to fit a 735a Pentium M , and it didn't like it at all ....fan wouldn't stop running or even slow down , could only boot into safe mode and Windows froze on boot up , no idea why , and obviously nobody else did either as I had no replies , so I'll be interested to see where this thread goes in the future ! .

Ashley
Ashrich
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:34 pm

Wonder why

Postby jagoman » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:11 pm

Did you try a BIOS update? The thing with the windows can be that it remembers the important parts such as Mainboard processor, HDD, and sometimes does not start up. Hope that I won't encounter that problem.
Eventually I bought a Pentium M 725 on e-bay. It will arrive nezt week.
Are you the one who bought that 735A on ebay?
So, hope that it will work.
Look out for a bios update for yourself. It might solve the problem. Does the the V series have the same chipset with L? Because you can see here that for all worked till now.
Hope that your will be fine too. And of course mine also.
jagoman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:22 pm

Next

Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron