amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Why doesn't my new memory work? Topic is solved

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

Why doesn't my new memory work?  Topic is solved

Postby suprnova » Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:24 pm

Just installed my new RAM-memory

Bought 2 of these

Corsair Value S. 1024MB DDR PC3200 400MHz 200-pin (SODIMM)

It's registered as 2GB Ram in the system info, but at the hardwaredetails there is no RAM-Memory present.

And I sure don't notice that the computer works faster.

And yeah, I have a M1425
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Re: Why doesn't my new memory work?

Postby aspettl » Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:37 pm

suprnova wrote:It's registered as 2GB Ram in the system info

Ok, so no problem there. If Windows has recognized it, it is used.

suprnova wrote:but at the hardwaredetails there is no RAM-Memory present.

What do you mean by "hardwaredetails"? (Screenshot?)

suprnova wrote:And I sure don't notice that the computer works faster.

Not very surprising if you had 1 GB before and if you use XP. Of course it depends heavily on the applications.
A jump from 512 MB to 1 or 2 GB is much more significant.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Re: Why doesn't my new memory work?

Postby suprnova » Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:43 pm

aspettl wrote:
suprnova wrote:It's registered as 2GB Ram in the system info

Ok, so no problem there. If Windows has recognized it, it is used.

suprnova wrote:but at the hardwaredetails there is no RAM-Memory present.

What do you mean by "hardwaredetails"? (Screenshot?)

suprnova wrote:And I sure don't notice that the computer works faster.

Not very surprising if you had 1 GB before and if you use XP. Of course it depends heavily on the applications.
A jump from 512 MB to 1 or 2 GB is much more significant.

Regards
Aaron



I Had 512 mb from the beginning and that's why I don't see any effect of it, and I installed the memories and after that reinstalled the whole OS
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Postby suprnova » Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:51 pm

someone must know?

The info says it's 2gb installed, but it reeeally goes much slower than with the 512 installed.

Have checked with a couple of CPU-info-programs and they also say the memories is installed.

So...what can a possible cause be?
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Postby aspettl » Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:33 pm

You wrote that you reinstalled windows. So I suppose that's the problem - some missing or wrong driver, or possibly some new software...

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby suprnova » Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:22 pm

aspettl wrote:You wrote that you reinstalled windows. So I suppose that's the problem - some missing or wrong driver, or possibly some new software...

Regards
Aaron


any idea of what drivers i have to get?
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Postby hikaru » Fri Feb 22, 2008 8:59 am

A good starting point are the official drivers provided by FSC:
http://support.fujitsu-siemens.com/com/support/downloads.html

Take care for the correct installation order.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby suprnova » Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:10 am

I have always concidered myself as good on computer things.
But this is really getting out of hands for me, but it is anoying that i won't work as it should.

Is there somewhat easy way to fix this?

And what is the installation order by the way?

/Suprnova
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Postby hikaru » Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:26 am

There is an easy way!
Download the drivers from FSC, uninstall the old ones and install the new ones - one after another.

The correct order is as follows:
1. chipset
2. video
3. audio
4. modem
5. everything else
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby suprnova » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:02 am

It's with sadness in my voice that I have to say that every driver is up to date
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Postby suprnova » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:23 am

First: Isn't my RAM to be shown in DeviceManager?
Second: The installation of The Chipset goes fine, but Windows doesn't think so and keep serching for it and of course doesn't find it so it says that i won't work correctly.

Know why?

EDIT:
Just checked Intel's website, don't know what chipset I have so I compared two of them

And as of I can see, None of the chipsets support DDR400mhz

It's that the problem?
Attachments
namnlös.JPG
Last edited by suprnova on Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Postby hikaru » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:35 am

Sounds strange.
Can you run memtest please?
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby suprnova » Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:19 am

I don't think I can run Memtest, It won't boot from a flashdrive and it doesn't want to boot from a DVD (don't have any CD's available)
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Postby hikaru » Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:01 pm

Ok, I had a closer look now.
You have the wrong chipset drivers. Your chipset is called like this: Intel 852/855 GM/GME Chipset

I strongly encourage you to try the drivers provided by FSC for your notebook!
These drivers will surely be recognised by windows.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby suprnova » Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:14 pm

Nope, that didn't solve it...

And the RAM-issue still remains too.
suprnova
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:00 am

Next

Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron