amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Wireless on the 1718 - almost giving up...

Everything around Linux and Unix-like operating systems.

Wireless on the 1718 - almost giving up...

Postby Belisarius » Wed Mar 05, 2008 4:05 pm

I'm on the verge of giving up in my Li1718. I've tried all the recent scripts with Gutsy and I've only once had the wireless card recognised but even then it wouldn't connect. When I press the wireless button it pops up a message saying wireless deactivated every time although the light goes on and off regardless. But I get no change in the wireless.

I'd appreciate some pointers on which distros people have got working with the scripts here and if they had them working from a straight install?

I'm quite happy to install fresh and follow the instructions given if it will work. My wife goes on maternity leave soon and I'm almost at the stage where I'll just wipe Linux and let her use Vista.

Any help appreciated. I'm away now 'til Sunday but will provide and requested info or feedback then.

Thanks

Andy
We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.
Belisarius
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Re: Wireless on the 1718 - almost giving up...

Postby thezoltan » Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:54 pm

Or, if you want to, you can use XP... OK, win sucks, but Vista is the uglyest one :-)
thezoltan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:17 pm

Postby aspettl » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:59 am

Well, you should describe the problem.
It's possible to make it work. If the script doesn't work, then you should ask in this thread (with output of the installation script, error messages etc.):
topic,1029,-Li1718-auto-installation-for-ubuntu-32bit-Testers-needed.html

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

The problem

Postby Belisarius » Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:41 pm

OK, using the script from the end of the main thread.

From a fresh install of Linux Mint 4.0.

Script runs, downloads and compiles but at the end I get:

Code: Select all
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007/tools'
make -C ./tools  install || exit 1
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007/tools'
install -d /usr/local/bin
for i in athstats 80211stats athkey athchans athctrl athdebug 80211debug wlanconfig ath_info; do \
                install $i /usr/local/bin/$i; \
                strip /usr/local/bin/$i; \
        done
install -d /usr/local/man/man8
install -m 0644 man/*.8 /usr/local/man/man8
install ../scripts/madwifi-unload /usr/local/bin/madwifi-unload
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007/tools'
FATAL: Error inserting wlan_scan_sta (/lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/net/wlan_scan_sta.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
./fsca16xx.sh: 377: printmessage: not found
Done. Please logout and relogin in order to start using the hotkeys.
andy@andy-laptop:~/Desktop$


And in dmesg I get:

Code: Select all
[  432.036000] input: Acer hotkey driver as /class/input/input11
[  432.036000] Acer Travelmate hotkey driver v0.5.35
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_find_channel
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_find_channel
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_scan_dump_channels
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_scan_dump_channels
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_create_ibss
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_create_ibss
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_note
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_note
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_start_scan
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_start_scan
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_sta_join
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_sta_join
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_note_mac
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_note_mac
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_scanner_register
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_scanner_register
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_chan2ieee
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_chan2ieee
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_scanner_unregister_all
[  476.128000] wlan_scan_sta: Unknown symbol ieee80211_scanner_unregister_all
andy@andy-laptop:~$


Any suggestions please?

Thanks

Andy
We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.
Belisarius
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Postby spook » Tue May 13, 2008 9:59 pm

I have wireless working with Ubuntu 8.04 on my Li1718.

From a fresh install I followed the 'how to' at http://code.google.com/p/fscamiloa16xx/.
This was so I could switch the wireless button on (Then I left it on).

Next I followed the 'how to' here http://blog.linuxoss.com/2008/05/08/ubuntu-804-enabling-atheros-ar5007-based-wireless/

Unplugged the ethernet cable, clicked the network monitor on the top right of the desktop and saw my network on the list. Clicked on it, then entered passphrase as set up on my router and it worked.

Remember to do the restarts where stated in each how to.
monkey tennis?
spook
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 9:44 pm

Postby Belisarius » Wed May 14, 2008 12:06 am

Thank you, spook.

That seems to have worked. I may actually stick with Ubuntu now on my laptop. Had considered trying something different but I use 8.04 on my main desktop and like it.

Haven't played around with the buttons yet so hopefully when my wife switches off the wireless button - as I'm sure she will - it'll keep working.

Shame the activation bubble messages are wrong. That would just tidy things up nicely!

Thanks again.

Andy
We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.
Belisarius
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Postby hikaru » Wed May 14, 2008 7:38 am

Well, Mint isn't that far away from Ubuntu to call it "something different", though apparently far enough to prevent scripts, written for Ubuntu, work properly. ;-)

So what made you try Mint?
Please consider, that the current Mint is based on Ubuntu 7.10 and I don't know if the curent WLAN-script still works with 7.10 since there have been some changes to make it work with Ubuntu 8.04 as far as I know.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby Belisarius » Wed May 14, 2008 10:17 am

Hi,

I'd had it working briefly under Mint but then somethingbroke and I wasn't able to fix it. I also had problems on video playback as well.

I've been a big ubuntu fan since 5.04 and it ran on my old laptop for over 2 years with n'er a glitch before my laptop died.

I bought the 1718 as spec wise it was good at the time and I no longer needed a portable development machine. As ever, if I'd have waited a few months I could have got a much better machine :). Have to admit I hate the keyboard on it

I still use it for my main machine and it's been fine there too. Just seemed to have problems getting this laptop working.

I chose Mint as it had several mentions here as working OK but as I said, something went amiss. Now I have 8.04 working OK I'll stick with it and set it up as I like it.

I was considering trying Fedora as people in my local LUG like it and I'd even considered going back to Suse - well, maybe not seriously though ;)

I'd really like to get the message boxes working when the wireless button is pressed and the middle button no longer open Firefox but the wireless is working so I'm happy!

Cheers

Andy
We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.
Belisarius
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Postby hikaru » Wed May 14, 2008 1:06 pm

Once Suse was probably the most beginner-friendly distribution. It didn't become worse but it became bloated and others got more intuitive.
So I recommend everyone who is happy with Suse to stay with it but I wouldn't recommend someone to switch to it.

Fedora is one of these user-friendly alternatives. But like all other derivatives of Red Hat I know and many other RPM-based distros it is sometimes hard to make deep changes to the system. For example, you hardly will find kernel-header-files what makes it necessary to compile a new kernel from scratch if you want to add a new functionality.

Therefore I prefer Debian- and Slackware-derivatives. But I'm biased. ;-)

Edit:
I just found out, that Fedora 9 has the kernel-headers. But they deliver the i386-headers while their kernel is i686. This is useless.
If you install kernel-devel instead of kernel-headers then it works.
...But booting it is a gamble. At least in VBox.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

same on slax

Postby KoviRobi » Wed May 21, 2008 11:23 pm

Hi I am running it on slax on a 1gb pendrive (same amilo li1718). I have a Wlna problem too. I have tried that http://fscamiloa16xx.googlecode.com/files/fsca16xx.sh , but then I had to install SUDO, but to install sudo I had ro install LPAM, but to install lpam I had to install Lex/YYAC, but I did not found any installers on that. Any help is appreciated
KoviRobi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 11:16 pm
Notebook:

Postby hikaru » Thu May 22, 2008 7:27 am

I checked the linked script and for different reasons it will not work with slax. sudo is only a marginal problem.
You will have to install the acerhk-script manually.
To do that you will have to become root with the following command:
Code: Select all
su -

The sudo-technique follows another philosophy than su and has certain advantages on single-user systems (e.g. Ubuntu) but comes with disadvantages on multi-user system (e.g. Slackware).
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901


Return to Linux / Unix / BSD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests