amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

amli li1718 mainboard Topic is solved

Problems with mainboard, BIOS, BIOS update, battery, AC adapter.

amli li1718 mainboard

Postby iie » Thu May 22, 2008 11:51 pm

Hi,

Firstly sorry about my english = ). I'am looking for full name of my amilo li1718 mainboard. Or maybe, somebody can tell me if can I put the intel core 2 duo t5500 there?

= )
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby hikaru » Fri May 23, 2008 7:40 am

I don't know the name of the mainboard, but the T5500 will work.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby iie » Fri May 23, 2008 8:12 am

correct me if I'm wrong:

Is it 2x1,66 ghz ? ( thinking about t5500 ) I just want to speed up my laptop
= ). And one more question, does somebody know how to unhide some options in BIOS? Something like modebin etc.
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby hikaru » Fri May 23, 2008 9:00 am

Yes the T5500 comes with 2x1,66GHz.
Which CPU do you have right now? And why would you like to upgrade it?
In which situations do you feel your notebook to be too slow?
Maybe it has another reason (RAM, HDD...).

The bios of notebooks is very limited. This is normal and there is no reasonable way to change this since the bios is a special design for a notebook and another one will not work.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby iie » Fri May 23, 2008 9:18 am

I have Intel Celeron M 1,60 ghz, Photoshop works rather slooooow, and I just want to play same newer games from time to time. I have 2 gb ram so I can't plug more. Os start's quite slowly and I dunno what to do.
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby iie » Fri May 23, 2008 10:30 am

I forget about something, is there any possibility to switch off touchpad? It's slightly irritating ..
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby hikaru » Fri May 23, 2008 11:30 am

Your RAM should be sufficient in most cases.
But if you have really big photoshop-projects you can never have enough. ;-)

I don't know if you can switch off the touchpad. Maybe you can find an entry in the device manager and deactivate it.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby iie » Fri May 23, 2008 11:50 am

can't find it in device manager, just classic mouse ps/2 and my a4tech x7. Maybe some soft?
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby hikaru » Sun May 25, 2008 5:52 pm

As far as I know, there is no Windows-software to do that.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby iie » Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:25 am

hi :)

again :),
I've been thinking about this t5500..., it has 1,6 ghz , and my currently celeron M has the same clock, so will this core 2 duo works better?
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby hikaru » Fri Jun 06, 2008 10:14 am

This can't be answered that easily.
It depends on what you are doing.
If you do a lot of multitasking, then it will work faster.

Photoshop and some games might run faster, but these are not the programs that normally profit from a multicore-CPU.

A very easy test would be to open the task manager when you work with photoshop and observe the CPU-load in the systray.
If it gets close to 100% and you feel something else (not photoshop) to be slow, this is the situation where a dualcore-CPU would be reasonable.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby iie » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:24 pm

maybe t2350 will work faster?
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby hikaru » Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:54 am

The T2350 is a "Core Duo" which is an older CPU-generation than the "Core 2 Duo".
The frequency of the T2350 might be higher than the one of the T5500 but I think it will be slower.

If you would like to have a faster CPU, I recommend you to get a T5600 or a T7200, depending on your budget.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby iie » Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:58 am

but I've found the specification of my amilo and there is nothing about t5600 and t7200, how do u know they are supported?
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Postby hikaru » Sat Jun 07, 2008 12:35 pm

The T2350, T5600 and T7200 all share the same socket: socket M
So mechanically the socket M Core 2 Duos fit in the Li 1718.

The only question is now, if the bios supports it.
I have found an offer at amazon with a Core 2Duo CPU:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fujitsu-Siemens-Amilo-1718-T5300/dp/B000ZLR976
It clearly states that a T5300 is installed, so a typo can be excluded.

The data sheets provided by FSC contain some errors and are often outdated.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Next

Return to Mainboard, BIOS, battery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron