amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

help upgrading amilo si 1520

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

help upgrading amilo si 1520

Postby t-leaf » Sat May 31, 2008 1:13 pm

hello all.....

i have just bought an amilo si 1520 which comes with a 1.66 t2300 processor i was wondering if i could make it better and faster by upgrading this and how i go about it as am new to owning laptops this bein my 2nd my 1st a p4 fujitsu...it comes with 1gig ram (2x512) what is the most i can put in?

thanks in advance james
t-leaf
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 8:47 am

Postby hikaru » Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:01 am

The fastest CPU you can install is the T7600 wit 2,33GHz. But you will lose your warranty if you do so.

2GB of RAM (533MHz) is the maximum specified by FSC. But the datasheets are faulty. Mine runs fine with 3GB (667MHz). Some users even made 4GB run but only Vista seems to be able to deal with it. XP and Linux will not boot with 4GB.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Postby t-leaf » Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:52 am

hello

thanks for reply, i have tried putting a 2gig stick in but it wont boot so put 2 1gig sticks in and runs fine, are processors expensive? if i upgrade to vista how wil i kno if it wil run more memory so tht i dont buy it and it wont run? thanks james
t-leaf
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 8:47 am

Postby hikaru » Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:32 pm

Did you try to mix a 2GB-module with one that has 1GB?

t-leaf wrote:are processors expensive?
It depends on what you consider to be expensive.
The T7600 starts at 510 Euro, the T7200 at 230 Euro (german market)

The only way to find out if your notebook works with 3 or 4GB of RAM is try and error. But what runs with XP will run with Vista too.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re:

Postby iamat » Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:31 pm

hikaru wrote:The fastest CPU you can install is the T7600 wit 2,33GHz. But you will lose your warranty if you do so.

2GB of RAM (533MHz) is the maximum specified by FSC. But the datasheets are faulty. Mine runs fine with 3GB (667MHz). Some users even made 4GB run but only Vista seems to be able to deal with it. XP and Linux will not boot with 4GB.


Hi Hiraku,

Have you more information about users running 4GB on amildo si 1520
I like to speek with this users

Bets regards.
René
iamat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:17 pm

Re: help upgrading amilo si 1520

Postby hikaru » Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:55 am

There is a long thread about 4GB in the Si 1520 in the german amilo-forum:
https://www.amilo-forum.de/topic,21781,-si-1520-mit-4GB-Ram.html
There have been numerous tries and errors and the essential conclusion is, if you run BIOS 1.10 4GB are likely to work but not for sure.

Some report that they see 3.3GB in the POST. I can confirm this from an earlier test with BIOS 1.20, but neither Win XP nor openSuse 10.3 nor Debian Etch (all 32bit) were able to load the graphics drivers with 4GB installed. The system itself ran fine, but the screen turned black when the graphics drivers were loaded.
Recenty I tried it once again with Debian Lenny (64bit) but even BIOS 1.10 didn't detect more than 3GB in the POST if 4GB are installed. The OS ran fine (with graphics) but since the BIOS did only report 3GB, the OS couldn't use more.
In my case the RAM modules have all been of type PC2-5300 by MDT. But since I gave away my second 2GB module after the first test, they were not the same for the second test. Although the specifications were identical. Others reported, that they had success with the same modules like mine. Others again reported, that they could make it work with Kingston modules.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: help upgrading amilo si 1520

Postby iamat » Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:35 am

Thanks for your reply an you link :D
iamat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:17 pm


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron