amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

All kinds of problems or malfunctions without known reason. Also general problems with the notebook as a whole.

virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

Postby rcet » Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:29 pm

amilo 2030 o/s oem windows xp home

issues
1 monitor will only fire up if i plug a second unit in on the second port. but once it displays i can unplug the
second monitor and amilo monitor continues to run.

2 keyboard will only work partly

3 lan port displays unplugged but the cable is fine, no conflicts

to date i have run kaspersky antyvirus ver7 and nod32 but apperently no infections
I have run killdisk and then carried fdisk routine on the drive and formatted and reinstalled
the o/s. but istill no success.
i have noticed also that the keyboard wont work in dos or in linux.

i am currently using a zippy usb keyboard, that works fine as long as i am in windows.

i am fresh out of ideas now can any one throw some suggestions my way please
is it possibly a bios problem or have the chips on the motherboard been infected
by a virus?

any help will be very much appreciated

richard
Last edited by aspettl on Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to "General problems".
rcet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:26 pm

Re: virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

Postby hikaru » Mon Sep 01, 2008 7:40 am

I don't think that it is a virus. A hardware damage is more likely.

Everything that neither works in windows nor in linux is nearly for sure due to defective hardware.
Do you have a working LAN in linux?
What does it mean, your keyboard works partly? Are there some keys that always work while others never do or does the whole keyboard work sometimes but not always?

I think your main board is broken but you should run memtest to exclude a problem with the RAM.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

Postby rcet » Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:26 pm

hi hikaru
thanks for your time and input' here are the keys that work on the onboard keyboard
ujl;'/
so you can see things have got bad, this machine is only used occasionaly and it has never been dropped,
is it possible for a virus to totaly distroy a mother board? what i cant understand is that as a desk top this unit work fine but i don't need another desk top i need a mobile why does every thing work with external utilities and not with the on board utilities?
the lan displays unplugged cable in windows or ubunto which i believe is linux based
I have also attached a modem card in the card port which also displays cable unplugged.
so what do you think has this unit become a permanent desktop or can i run some kind of magic routine to restore the dead utilities
regards rcet
Also if i install the driver supplied for the display on the siemens drivers disk the monitor will not work even if the back up monitor is plugged in but using the windows basic display driver the monitor works fine.
rcet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:26 pm

Re: virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

Postby hikaru » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:38 am

I don't want to exclude that a virus can cause problems like these but it needs a lot of knowledge to program routines that damage hardware (normally people with these skills are well paid programmers and spend their time for other things).
And it is not attractive since the purpose of viruses is to cause as much damage as possible (in terms of data loss and work flow interruptions) with the least possible effort. There are easier ways.

So I just think your hardware is broken. It is annoying but not unlikely.
Most likely the keyboard-problem could easily be fixed by installing a new one but solving the other problems would mean to replace the main board.
If you can't get a very cheap one on e-bay and don't know how to change it, it just isn't worth the money.

If you need a mobile device I recommend you to get a new one. If the specs of the V2030 are enough for you, you will not have to spend more than 400 Euro.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

Postby rcet » Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:51 pm

Thanks Hikaru
It looks like iv got another deskto then!!!!!!!!!!
I had hoped for a software solution like a flash for the bios or something,
if the motherboard has failed why does the laptop work with external utilities?
rcet
rcet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:26 pm

Re: virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

Postby hikaru » Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:32 pm

To be honest it was a very simple point of view to say that the main board is broken. In fact I only think that your LAN-port or the corresponding chip and some chip on your graphics adapter are defective. The rest seems to be ok. But since both are soldered to the main board, replacing these components normally means to replace the whole main board. This is what the FSC-support would do.

To unsolder the defective components and resolder new ones means to have access to replacements and have the equipment and skills for RoHS-conformative soldering, which is very seldom.

One thing you can try is the so called "hardware reset":
Remove main battery and power pack and press the power button for at least 15 seconds. I don't think that it will have any positive effect but at least it won't have a negative one.

You can also try a bios-update. But if I'm right it won't help.
If you do it please use only a bios provided by FSC and strictly follow the instructions. It is unlikely but flashing a bios always means to take the risk of making the bios unusable.If this happens absolutely nothing will work anymore.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: virus or bios,this amilo has got the bug

Postby H3llr3is3r » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:01 pm

Hey,
i dont know realy well ur problem, but:
ur network cable is plugged and ur system not see the network it is maybe a cable error, but can be misconfiguration. or driver error too.( i have this problems sometimes).
i suggest to reinstall with the good drivers, maybe help u.
I use Win XP, but all drivers what is original for this laptop is for Vista. My keyboard make some wierd things. But works. Its a driver conflict, for me sure.

So, thats what i can say for u.

P.S.: Im sad, my laptop from today isnt supported by FSC. Or seem to be.
No driver page found for this model.Sad Day!!!
A user of Xa2528!!!
H3llr3is3r
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:12 am
Notebook:
  • Xa2528-DEAD


Return to General problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron