amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Li1718 Maximum memory

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby darrell » Tue Sep 23, 2008 7:25 pm

Hi,

I have an Li1718, purchased with 1GB memory, T2080 processor. I want to upgrade to 2GB memory, which should be possible according to Fujitsu-Siemens specifications, but am concerned that the dmi data is reporting that the max memory capacity is 1GB: here is the output from the linux dmidecode tool:

Handle 0x000B, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
Physical Memory Array
Location: System Board Or Motherboard
Use: System Memory
Error Correction Type: None
Maximum Capacity: 1 GB
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Number Of Devices: 4

I have also booted into Windows and used SIW (System Information for Windows) which gives the same results. I know that many versions of the Li1718 were sold with 2GB installed, so I'm a little confused - perhaps there are different versions of the Li1718. On the sticker attached to the bottom of my machine it says "Amilo Li 1718, Model MS2212".

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Darrell
darrell
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 7:08 pm

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby hikaru » Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:01 am

Don't worry, the Li 1718 supports 2GB. Most likely it will even work with 3 maybe 4GB.
We have the same chipsets and mine runs fine with 3GB.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby lelkes » Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:20 am

hikaru wrote:Don't worry, the Li 1718 supports 2GB. Most likely it will even work with 3 maybe 4GB.
We have the same chipsets and mine runs fine with 3GB.

I borrow this tread....
How do I find out witch chipset I´ve on my Amilio Li1718?
lelkes
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:36 am

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby hikaru » Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:03 am

You can either check this in the device manager or just google for the datasheet of your notebook:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=li+1718+datasheet&btnG=Google-Search&meta=
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby lelkes » Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:19 am

hikaru wrote:You can either check this in the device manager or just google for the datasheet of your notebook:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=li+1718+datasheet&btnG=Google-Search&meta=

sorry, beeng non-english I´ve ask you - is ist the motherboards chipset I have to check if I want 3 or 4 GB RAM-memeory?
lelkes
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:36 am

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby hikaru » Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:41 am

Yes, the motherboard's chipset is what you have to check if you want to check for the maximum RAM. The part that counts is the northbridge.
Your chipset is: "ATI RC415ME + SB460"

btw: I was wrong when I said that my notebook has the same chipset. The datasheet I accidentaly looked up by then was for the Pi 1505. But the basic statement, that the chipset of the Li 1718 supports 4GB of RAM remains true.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby lelkes » Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:59 am

The info chipset of the Li 1718 supports 4GB of RAM is very useful, I’ve wanted to upgrade to at least 3 Gb for a long time.
Maybe after that I’ll change the processor to a Intel duo2


Any answer is appreciated
//Peter from Sweden, Europe
lelkes
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:36 am

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby hikaru » Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:08 am

Please keep in mind that not only the chipset but also the bios has to support 4GB of RAM. This might be a problem.
For the CPU make sure that you look for a merom since a penryn will not work.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby lelkes » Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:40 am

hikaru wrote:Please keep in mind that not only the chipset but also the bios has to support 4GB of RAM. This might be a problem.
For the CPU make sure that you look for a merom since a penryn will not work.

But the BIOS is supporting 3 GB?
BTW how do I check witch ver. of BIOS I use? Tried the google-search, but failed.


Any answer is appreciated
//Peter from Sweden, Europe
lelkes
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:36 am

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby hikaru » Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:21 am

I don't know if the bios supports 3GB. You can check the version either in the bios itself or from a windows-tool like everest.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby lelkes » Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:25 am

hikaru wrote:I don't know if the bios supports 3GB. You can check the version either in the bios itself or from a windows-tool like everest.

But ca anything happen if it doesnt support?
is it F11 i press during upstart for checking BIOS?
lelkes
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:36 am

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby hikaru » Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:41 am

The worst thing that can happen is, that the notebook doesn't boot correctly with 3GB.
I don't know which key you will have to press to enter the bios. On most modern computers it is F2 but it might also be another key.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby lelkes » Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:37 pm

Now I´ve one 2GB RAM and one 1GB it should equal to 3 GB.
But the pc just recognize 2GB RAM
lelkes
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:36 am

Re: Li1718 Maximum memory

Postby hikaru » Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:13 pm

Try a hardware reset:
Remove main battery and power pack and hold the power button for about 15 seconds.
If it still doesn't work swap the RAM modules and try again.

Do you still have 2GB if you only insert the 2GB module?
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron