amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

amilo 3438 and ram upgrade

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

amilo 3438 and ram upgrade

Postby Ozonecy » Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:01 pm

does any1 upgrade amilo 3438 ram from 1024 to 2gb?
any better performance?
any change?
i will have more results in games?
also i need some photo where the rame located and how can i change them
Ozonecy
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:31 pm

Postby Ozonecy » Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:43 pm

okay
i found where the ram located. now i need to know if i upgrade my amilo ram i will get better performance?
Ozonecy
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:31 pm

Postby Itanium » Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:21 pm

I personally never had so many ram but I don't think the difference is significant. Observe the games you play and the programs you use(you can use NHC for that purpouse). If your requirements exceed the available ram size, then it's time to upgrade.
User avatar
Itanium
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Notebook:
  • M1437

Postby Borkar » Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:26 pm

Usually you don't need it. At the moment it is not worth paying so much money for 2GB if you have a look at the increase of performance.

Upgrade in 1/2 or 1 year. :wink:

Regards
Borkar
Image ..... It works, if you do it right! ;)
User avatar
Borkar
Moderator
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Notebook:
  • FSC Lifebook E4010
  • Toshiba Satellite M70

Postby Ozonecy » Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:30 am

because i canot play the games with full feataures and performance.
Ozonecy
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:31 pm

Postby aspettl » Sat Sep 02, 2006 8:42 am

Then monitor your RAM usage while gaming. You'll see whether the swap file is needed.

(Imho RAM isn't the problem. "Full features" often requires a better graphics card, it depends on the game...)

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby Ozonecy » Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:05 am

6800 card is one of the best o thing. as i see on reviews.
maybe my TFT wxgy is the problem on frames?
Ozonecy
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:31 pm

Postby aspettl » Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:17 am

Ozonecy wrote:maybe my TFT wxgy is the problem on frames?

No, I don't think so.

The 6800 is very good (for a laptop) - but not that good...
Like said, it depends on the game.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby Borkar » Sat Sep 02, 2006 12:33 pm

if you play games in the native resolution (1440x900), you will have problems with low fps. Try games in 1024x768.
However, a RAM upgrade won't be the solution.

Regards
Borkar
Image ..... It works, if you do it right! ;)
User avatar
Borkar
Moderator
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Notebook:
  • FSC Lifebook E4010
  • Toshiba Satellite M70

Postby Vad » Sun Sep 10, 2006 3:33 pm

the problem isn't with the RAM but with windows. No matter how much RAM you have it will still access a swap file on your lazy 4200-5400 rpm harddisk.
My answer is yes, buy 2 GB if you afford it but then disable swapfile in winXP control panel. You should see an increase in speed (RAM is speedier than your harddsk) and battery life (RAM is not so powerhungry as hddisk) Do not expect miracles however.
Vad
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:18 pm

Postby Borkar » Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:43 am

There are also programs that expect a swapfile to exist. This means that if there is no swapfile you will feel a decrease in performance using this programs.

I'd advise to use a swapfile that is defragmented and not too big (1 - 1.5 times your physical RAM).

Regards
Borkar
Image ..... It works, if you do it right! ;)
User avatar
Borkar
Moderator
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Notebook:
  • FSC Lifebook E4010
  • Toshiba Satellite M70

Postby Senior » Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:27 am

I have the experience,that 2Gb of Ram are very good for online games and for short loading.You won't get much more better performance,but its always good to have more Ram.
"I am the greatest"
Muhammed Ali.
Senior
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: Wesel
Notebook:
  • Amilo M3438G

Postby Vad » Wed Sep 13, 2006 3:51 pm

hi borkar,
programs such as...? Photoshop perhaps? Any other worth mentioning?
Thanks for your help.
Vad
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:18 pm

Postby Borkar » Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:13 pm

to be honest, I don't know which specific program does it. But there are probably more that you might think. I does exist, though.
It is probably less common in video games...

Regards
Borkar
Image ..... It works, if you do it right! ;)
User avatar
Borkar
Moderator
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Notebook:
  • FSC Lifebook E4010
  • Toshiba Satellite M70

Postby Senior » Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:37 am

Is it also possible,to overclock the Ram in the M3438?
Because if you use the dual channel mode you will not really feel the difference in fps rate in games if you upgrade the rma from 1 to 2 Gb,but making it faster would be better i think.
"I am the greatest"
Muhammed Ali.
Senior
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: Wesel
Notebook:
  • Amilo M3438G

Next

Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests