amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions. Topic is solved

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions.

Postby beldoy » Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:38 am

Hi,

I have an Amilo Li1718 with Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2080 @ 1.73GHz CPU and 1Gig of Memory. Attached is system info from cpuz v.1.48 if this helps...

What I want to do is use my system to encode HD Source roughly 8Gig in size into HD 720p h.264 at around 2Gig in size.

I am using Virtualdub and x264 codec to do the encode and did a test run last night.

The outcome is very acceptable quality but the encode took around 5 1/2 hours, which is doable over night.

My Questions:

I need to reduce the encoding time down as much as possible/doable.

Would upgrading the ram on its own help much? If not Would upgrading the cpu (can this be done?) help and if so How would I go about it?

I have been playing around with insides of various laptops and desktops in the past, so I am not affraid of getting my hands dirty here, although I have not as of yet been into the Li1718.


Thanks in advance for any help that can be given.
Attachments
cpuz.txt
cpuz v1.48 output of my system
(1.54 KiB) Downloaded 233 times
beldoy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:18 am

Re: Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions.

Postby hikaru » Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34 pm

Encoding HD videos is hard work as you know. I would upgrade both, CPU and RAM.

I have the same chipset like you and can tell you that 3GB work fine but 4GB don't work at all. So I would recommend to install 3GB.

Concerning the CPU you can install any merom core duo or core 2 duo.
I would recommend to install at least a T7200 to get a noticable effect. The maximum you can install is the T7600.
Maybe you can save one hour with a strong core 2 duo but don't expect miracles.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions.

Postby beldoy » Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:42 pm

Hi, Thanks for your quick reply.

I know how to upgrade the memory, which I will do.

The cpu...any tutorials or walkthroughs that you know of as I have not done cpu uprades before, well not on this one.

Also If I do opt for upgrading both is there anything else needed to make things work ok...bios upgrade or cpu fan upgrade??


Thanks again..
beldoy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:18 am

Re: Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions.  Topic is solved

Postby hikaru » Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:35 pm

There is a tutorial for another model in the forum:
https://www.amilo-forum.com/topic,1749,-V2030-Processor-Upgrade-Tutorial.html

You will have to replace the cooling pad on the CPU with a new one. The better solution would be to use heat conductive paste.
Last time I reseated a CPU I used "Arctic Silver 5" cooling paste. Any other will do too but this is widely used.
There is a reference about how to apply the paste on which CPU:
http://www.arcticsilver.com/ins_route_step2intelas5.html

You will not have to upgrade the fan or something else. You don't even have the option. After changing the CPU you should just make sure that you did everything right by watching the temperatures while giving the CPU some hard work.
And take care of ESD!
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions.

Postby beldoy » Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:14 pm

Thank you very much...You have been a great help.
beldoy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:18 am

Re: Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions.

Postby iie » Sun Nov 23, 2008 3:54 pm

@beldoy

Have u changed cpu in this amilo? For this t7200?
Amilo Li1718, ram upgrade, CPU upgrade, hdd upgrade, WLAN upgrade
.....................2 GB..............Core 2 Duo 1,73......160 gb.......Dell wireless 1395
User avatar
iie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:40 pm

Re: Amilo Li1718 Upgrade questions.

Postby beldoy » Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:08 pm

hi,

i have upgraded the memory with no problem but cannot do the cpu as my local supplier does not do laptop cpus and price of cpu elsewhere is way to expensive ie for the price of a decent cpu i can get a new laptop for nearly the same price...

upgrading the memory has shaved about 1/2 hour of encode time...not much but better than nothing...
beldoy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:18 am


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests