amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

amilo 1818 ram upgrade

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

amilo 1818 ram upgrade

Postby nwhessian » Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:18 pm

Hi
I currently have the 2gb ram that comes with this laptop. Can i purchase any make of 2gb ram and instal that aswell or is there only one slot, or does it have to be a specific manufacturer.
Thanks in advance for your expert opinions, sorted my last problem out a treat. :wink:
If i can tick another one in on this, off topic, also i have to turn on wireless capability everytime i switch on, through the diagnose a probem vista feature, whats the fix for that too?
nwhessian
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: amilo 1818 ram upgrade

Postby hikaru » Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:52 pm

There are two sockets for RAM in your notebook. Most likely each one is equiped with 1GB but it's also possible that you have only one module with 2GB. You can check this either by opening the service door or using a tool like everest.
3GB should work, but 4GB might cause problems with the graphics resulting in a black screen.
You will need RAM of the type SO-DIMM DDR2 PC2-4200 or PC2-5300. Every module with these specifications should work but modules of brands are known to be more reliable.

I can't help you with the W-LAN.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: amilo 1818 ram upgrade

Postby KitamuraComputers » Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:12 pm

hikaru wrote:There are two sockets for RAM in your notebook. Most likely each one is equiped with 1GB but it's also possible that you have only one module with 2GB. You can check this either by opening the service door or using a tool like everest.
3GB should work, but 4GB might cause problems with the graphics resulting in a black screen.
You will need RAM of the type SO-DIMM DDR2 PC2-4200 or PC2-5300. Every module with these specifications should work but modules of brands are known to be more reliable.

I can't help you with the W-LAN.


There's a RAM socket under the service door, and one under the keyboard. The keyboard has latches at the top, use a nail file or something similar to slide the latch towards the screen, and lift the keyboard gently. Do one latch at a time, and support the parts of the keyboard that you've already lifted with something, to stop it latching back down. There's a screw underneath marked "k/b" this will need to come out too.
Image
KitamuraComputers
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:41 pm
Location: Birmingham


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron