amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

[pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

All kinds of problems or malfunctions without known reason. Also general problems with the notebook as a whole.

[pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby jseb24 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:13 pm

Hello,

I would like to install Windows Vista 64 bits on my Amilo Pi 3540. But at the begining of the installation program, the laptop reboots. I tried Ubuntu 64bits and Open Suse 64 bits, They have the same problem !!!

Is anyone have the same problem ? I didn't find the solution on the Internet.

Thank you :)
jseb24
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby cTn » Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:21 pm

I would like to hear answer to this question too
cTn
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:20 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby jseb24 » Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:33 pm

Do you have the problem too ? I have made a test of the hardware with SystemDiagnostic. The result is that there is (maybe) a problem with the network controler. If nobody knows the solution i think I will call the user support. But I can't now because I need my computer to work.
jseb24
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby cTn » Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:55 pm

jseb24 wrote:Do you have the problem too ? I have made a test of the hardware with SystemDiagnostic. The result is that there is (maybe) a problem with the network controler. If nobody knows the solution i think I will call the user support. But I can't now because I need my computer to work.


Ive successfully installed vista x64, before u install it just make sure u have only 2/how many partitions u had created, before OS installed always created some 200mb hdd (for backups maybe?) in this case installation always failed with restart, i solved this by removing all partitions, then restart laptop and now when u create os partition and partition for your stuff, os installer doesn't create this "small" partition anymore and u will successfully install the os,
however, i am having problem with "auto" restarts, exactly same thing happening on my laptop like in this thread http://forum.fujitsu-siemens.com/forum/ ... hilit=3540
(seems some issue with network controller also? i am not so good with german, but they are talking about some network issue causing that) maybe?

so if you can provide some more info about this network controller problem i would be really glad, because i need my computer to work also so i cant just send laptop back and wait month for some reasonable fix/reply.. you know what i mean...

well i check this forum later today, good luck with your laptop buddy (good look to both of us i think)

I am getting GNZA-ZCBJ-6ASBV error on my wifi, with 1.07c bios
cTn
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:20 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby jseb24 » Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:41 am

I tried to let a partition available but I have the same problem. I Can't delete all my partitions because I need my computer ! I tried to setup a Linux OS in text mode and I was able to see an error on screen. But it was too quick. I will try to catch this error and if this is always the same.

I am getting GNZA-ZCBJ-7ASVV error on my ethernet controler, with 1.07c bios.
jseb24
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby cTn » Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:31 pm

jseb24 wrote:I tried to let a partition available but I have the same problem. I Can't delete all my partitions because I need my computer ! I tried to setup a Linux OS in text mode and I was able to see an error on screen. But it was too quick. I will try to catch this error and if this is always the same.

I am getting GNZA-ZCBJ-7ASVV error on my ethernet controler, with 1.07c bios.


I think that error that you cant catch is something similar to this "unsupported PM cap regs version (7)", too bad when you try to install 32 bit version of linux, you get the same message, but linux works just fine without any limitations or any other problem, this is like the 4th forum thread that i made across internet asking for solution to this x64 problem, still without any results

edit, i found some useful text about this PC cap error, at least something

Code: Select all
pm cap regs version (7)
power management capabilities register version 7

some pci device in your computer uses version 7 which apparently is not supported by the kernel as of yet.

You can use sudo lspci -v and look to see which pci device uses version 7.

 In my case it was the LAN card. So I went into the BIOS and disabled it and did not get a message.
So there is no danger to your system. It just cannot fully manage all the power options available to one of your pci devices. Probably the NIC. Its just too bad I still have to see that dang message every time.

(copy/pasted) from other linux forum
cTn
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:20 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby cTn » Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:34 pm

bump
cTn
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:20 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby mnsy » Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:47 pm

Hello,

I also bought such an AMILO PI 3540 on monday.
After the first attemp to boot the 64 bit-Version of ubuntu failed (it crashed immediately), I installed the 32 Bit Version without errors.
Furthermore, I tried to boot serveral 64-bit linux-distributions (gentoo, debian, ubuntu) and found out that the boot-option "acpi=off" with a disabled w-lan helps a little bit because the system is beginning to boot before it crashes.
Another interesting issue is that gentoo displays a backtrace while loading the firmware for the core 2 duo processor....
In the end I was able to install a debian-basic-system (whithout packages from the internet) with the network-installer on an usb-stick.

Maybe this helps somebody to figure out what is wrong with this Notebook...


P.S.: The notebook is listed in the german ubuntuusers hardware database to run "out of the box" with the 64 bit version ... I do not know why ^^
mnsy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:34 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby cTn » Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:18 am

mnsy wrote:Hello,

I also bought such an AMILO PI 3540 on monday.
After the first attemp to boot the 64 bit-Version of ubuntu failed (it crashed immediately), I installed the 32 Bit Version without errors.
Furthermore, I tried to boot serveral 64-bit linux-distributions (gentoo, debian, ubuntu) and found out that the boot-option "acpi=off" with a disabled w-lan helps a little bit because the system is beginning to boot before it crashes.
Another interesting issue is that gentoo displays a backtrace while loading the firmware for the core 2 duo processor....
In the end I was able to install a debian-basic-system (whithout packages from the internet) with the network-installer on an usb-stick.

Maybe this helps somebody to figure out what is wrong with this Notebook...


P.S.: The notebook is listed in the german ubuntuusers hardware database to run "out of the box" with the 64 bit version ... I do not know why ^^

Thank u very much for the info, too bad we still cant make this work :(
cTn
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:20 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby jseb24 » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:42 pm

Thank you very much for the answers. That's true when I boot on Ubuntu 32 bits I have this type of message : "unsupported PM cap regs version (7)".

I will try to find the element which is making this error... Or I will wait an update of the kernels :P
jseb24
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby TheEPOCH » Fri May 08, 2009 4:40 pm

Hi all,

if you want to install a 64 bit Unix OS you have to type "mem=4096m" in the Kernel Boot Options on starting the System (uses Grub if allready installed).

An other alternative is to remove one of the two 2Gig memorys. This is essential anyway if you want to install a stable Win x64 system on the Amilo and you can not finshed the setup process without a reboot. After you have installed the windows system you can restrict the memory by the "msconfig" tool to an value of 4095 (msconfig -> Start -> Extended Options (Sry, I'm using a german translated system) -> max memory)

Ideas about LAN card drivers, etc. are wrong. FSC designed the Amilo Pi3540 with an incorrect memory controller! The device reports wronge values to the OS. I'll hope the FSC support will fix this some day.

Greetings
TheEPOCH
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 4:27 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby cTn » Fri May 08, 2009 6:12 pm

TheEPOCH wrote:Hi all,

if you want to install a 64 bit Unix OS you have to type "mem=4096m" in the Kernel Boot Options on starting the System (uses Grub if allready installed).

An other alternative is to remove one of the two 2Gig memorys. This is essential anyway if you want to install a stable Win x64 system on the Amilo and you can not finshed the setup process without a reboot. After you have installed the windows system you can restrict the memory by the "msconfig" tool to an value of 4095 (msconfig -> Start -> Extended Options (Sry, I'm using a german translated system) -> max memory)

Ideas about LAN card drivers, etc. are wrong. FSC designed the Amilo Pi3540 with an incorrect memory controller! The device reports wronge values to the OS. I'll hope the FSC support will fix this some day.

Greetings


Hi buddy, did u try this? i mean did u tried removing the second 2gb memory ? if yes, do i loose my warranty by doing so ? and if yes, could u post a picture how to do it? (i mean which part of cover do i need to remove to do so)

and second question, did u contacted the FJS support? i contacted them like a month ago, with all informations i had about this problem, the support guy from our country was so nice and forwarded my request to the "inside support" and 2 days after i just get message that they doesn't support x64 that was all.

Well, thank you for the info and i hope u could answer my questions :) bye
cTn
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:20 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby TheEPOCH » Sat May 09, 2009 11:28 am

Hi,

yes I did it so. My first idea was to switch the memory modules to test if one is broken, but my problem was that you can only reach one without seperate the whole notebook. So I tried only with one module and it works fine! I think it's possible to run a stable system with only 2 Gig RAM, but why? i bought 4 Gigs :D
So I insert the second 2 Gig module after Windows x64 installation again and configured the usable memory to 4095 MB. Okay one problem is that Windows now only uses ~ 3 Gig but thats one more than 2 in the other alternative.

Sure I think it maybe a warrenty problem. Finally you not allowed to open the case, if you don't want to lose the warrenty.
(My opinion: "But if you keep with this, you'll not be allowed to change your hard disk drive if you want a SSD or a bigger Disk if you want...")

Removing the memory module (this one) is more or less very easy. I suggest that you remove the battery and then press the power button for ~ 3 secondes to completely discharge the electric components before you start.
You have only to remove the backplate (9 Screws I marked in picture). Then the memory module is locatet on the lower middel part of now visible mainboard. To remove the module you have to move the small 2 pins (I marked them with 2 in the open picture), which fix the module at the left and right, carefully away from the module, till the module flips out.

Yes i contacted the FSC Support to and I get the same answer!!! I think it's a blame for FSC to sell notebooks which makes the user think that you can use 64 bit software (sry, when I see that FSC promote Intel C2D CPU, new 1066 FSB and 4 Gig RAM, then it makes me think that I can use this x64 components with x64 operatingsystems) and at least the user bought a "broken" device. Cockiness!!
Attachments
close.jpg
Close
open.jpg
Open
TheEPOCH
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 4:27 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Notebook:
  • Amilo Pi3450

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby cTn » Sat May 09, 2009 1:49 pm

TheEPOCH wrote:Hi,

yes I did it so. My first idea was to switch the memory modules to test if one is broken, but my problem was that you can only reach one without seperate the whole notebook. So I tried only with one module and it works fine! I think it's possible to run a stable system with only 2 Gig RAM, but why? i bought 4 Gigs :D
So I insert the second 2 Gig module after Windows x64 installation again and configured the usable memory to 4095 MB. Okay one problem is that Windows now only uses ~ 3 Gig but thats one more than 2 in the other alternative.

Sure I think it maybe a warrenty problem. Finally you not allowed to open the case, if you don't want to lose the warrenty.
(My opinion: "But if you keep with this, you'll not be allowed to change your hard disk drive if you want a SSD or a bigger Disk if you want...")

Removing the memory module (this one) is more or less very easy. I suggest that you remove the battery and then press the power button for ~ 3 secondes to completely discharge the electric components before you start.
You have only to remove the backplate (9 Screws I marked in picture). Then the memory module is locatet on the lower middel part of now visible mainboard. To remove the module you have to move the small 2 pins (I marked them with 2 in the open picture), which fix the module at the left and right, carefully away from the module, till the module flips out.

Yes i contacted the FSC Support to and I get the same answer!!! I think it's a blame for FSC to sell notebooks which makes the user think that you can use 64 bit software (sry, when I see that FSC promote Intel C2D CPU, new 1066 FSB and 4 Gig RAM, then it makes me think that I can use this x64 components with x64 operatingsystems) and at least the user bought a "broken" device. Cockiness!!


Thank your very much for the info :), i was also wondering how the hell i could replace my HDD (because i don't see any screws in the HDD area, did u find out how to remove this cover?)

I am sorry but i didn't fully understand the "Okay one problem is that Windows now only uses ~ 3 Gig but thats one more than 2 in the other alternative" part, so after you installed vista x64 and set the memory limit to 4095 and inserted the second 2gb of ram, you can still only use 3Gb ? (maybe i missunderstood, dunno)

Thanx again
cTn
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:20 pm

Re: [pi 3540] 64 bit OS' setup

Postby TheEPOCH » Sat May 09, 2009 2:15 pm

Hi again,

the screws to remove the hdd cover are hidden behind 2 small rubber sticks, whcih are glued over the screws. You can remove them using a very small screwdriver. They are locate some cm above the fluted area, on the picture i marked the hdd backplate too.

Okay the sec. (sry. for my english), yes you right with this understanding.
Windows (I'm testing Windows 7 RC x64 at moment) said that the system detects 4 Gig but uses only 3 Gig, maybe the 4095 mB value is wrong, but i tried to insert 4096 but then windows didn't saved the right value if I checked it agian. Inserting 4095 resolves the value problem.

Maybe someon else with Vista x64 can try to insert the 4096 mb value and looks what will happen.

More or less I'm okay with the situation now, the notebook is stabel with an x64 operating system (!!) and the usability with 3 Gig is not maximum but its okay. My next idea is to experiment with ram drives. Maybe there is a solution to use the "lost" Gig in a usefull diffrent way.

Greetings
TheEPOCH
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 4:27 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Notebook:
  • Amilo Pi3450

Next

Return to General problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron