amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Postby calibraracer » Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:33 am

now being a noob to the site I thought i'd ask about potential upgrades for my amilo li2727

i'd like to go 4gb 800mhz ddr2 sodimm

does anyone know if this is possible??

and my current cpu is a bit lame being a dual core celeron i'd like to swap it out for this one http://processorfinder.intel.com/detail ... Spec=SLAP9 but not sure about compatability it's used in the amilo li 2735 which is the big daddy of my model any ideas let us know cheers in advance mike

a screen shot of cpuz
Attachments
screenshot1.jpg
calibraracer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: brough, uk

Re: help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Postby Nitrous_Oxide » Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:29 am

U can upgrade cpu and ram, but i have to tell u that an 32-bit operating system(which u probably have) doesn't adress (and uses) more than 2814 mb.
This means that u have to upgrade your operating system to 64-bit.

Good Luck
Nitrous_Oxide
Nitrous_Oxide
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:06 am

Re: help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Postby calibraracer » Wed Apr 08, 2009 9:04 pm

Nitrous_Oxide wrote:U can upgrade cpu and ram, but i have to tell u that an 32-bit operating system(which u probably have) doesn't adress (and uses) more than 2814 mb.
This means that u have to upgrade your operating system to 64-bit.

Good Luck
Nitrous_Oxide


Hi sorry for late reply been away working i have got the 4gb ddr 800mhz installs into lappy no problem and it finds it all but when it comes to loading vista ultimate i get bsod and hasty restart would this be because i'm running a 32bit os cheers mike
calibraracer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: brough, uk
Notebook:
  • eeepc 900xp
  • amilo li 2727

Re: help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Postby hikaru » Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:46 pm

The chipset of the Li 2727 is not designed for 800MHz RAM modules. But the modules should clock down. So basically these modules should work but you won't benefit from their speed.
The BIOS of some Amilos with shared memory graphics has problems to properly address the VRAM when 4GB of RAM are installed. Maybe the Li 2727 is one of them. Downgrading to 3GB should solve this problem. If you had 1GB modules installed before and if you still have them you can easily check this.

The CPU you chose doesn't fit since it has socket P while the Li 2727 has socket M.
Have a look at the following two wikipedia articles and search for the socket M-CPUs to find out which ones wil fit:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Pentium_Dual-Core_microprocessors
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_2_microprocessors

The T7600 is the most powerfull CPU you can insert but I think the T7200 is the last one with a reasonable price.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Postby Nitrous_Oxide » Fri Apr 10, 2009 12:42 pm

calibraracer wrote:Hi sorry for late reply been away working i have got the 4gb ddr 800mhz installs into lappy no problem and it finds it all but when it comes to loading vista ultimate i get bsod and hasty restart would this be because i'm running a 32bit os cheers mike


This could very well be the problem.
When I had build my desktop pc with 4GB it wouldn't run an 32-bit operating system. I had BSOD's and everything. When I removed 1GB it was running fine. Then installed 64-bit OS and runs better and with 4GB.

You just need to check this, but if an 64-bit OS doesn't resolve your problem you can try the solution Hikaru mentioned. But I would try installing an 64-bit OS first because you then have more ram to use and @ a higher "speed" (dual channel can only be use if your modules are the same size).

Good Luck

Nitrous
Nitrous_Oxide
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:06 am

Re: help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Postby calibraracer » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:08 pm

thanx for replies i'll try the 64 bit os then go down the 3gb route many thanx mike
calibraracer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: brough, uk
Notebook:
  • eeepc 900xp
  • amilo li 2727

Re: help with amilo li 2727 upgrades

Postby carabulea » Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:16 pm

calibraracer your notebook works with 4 gb of RAM at 800 Mhz? http://www.memory-up.com/memory_Finders ... 9&system=1 here the max frequency that works fine on this model is 667. i wana upgrade my RAM to 4 GB but i'am not sure what frequency to use 800 or 667 Mhz. sorry for bad english. thx
carabulea
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:28 pm


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron