amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

CPU upgrade

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

CPU upgrade

Postby will1k1 » Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:38 pm

Hello, I have got a FUJITSU SIEMENS AMILO Li1705 currently running with a Intel(R) Celeron(R) M CPU 440 @ 1.86GHz, 1862 Mhz, 1 Core(s), 1 Logical Processor(s) I dont now anything about processors, please could you tell me if i could upgrade to a INTEL CORE DUO MOBILE T2370 1.86GHz/2MB/533MHz SLA4J [T2370/SLA4J] Thanks for your help if you need any more information please contact me. Thanks -will
will1k1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:35 pm

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby hikaru » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:56 am

No, the T2370 will not fit since it has a different socket.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby sofos » Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:38 am

Hello, I'm from Greece and i have the Amilo li 1705 (bought 3 years ago) with celeron M 430 (1.73 ghz,533 fsb) cpu and 1.024 MB memory.
I desided to upgrade both memmory to 2GB and CPU to Intel 2 Duo Τ 5300 (1.73 ghz dual core 533 fsb), as i've read on internet that this has been achived with no problem. Ufortunatelly, when i tried it myself the Windows didn't start, so i had to return to the Celeron (i forgot to mention that i had also changed the Vista Home to XP 1,5 year before, because the laptop was very slow).
I know that Celeron is 32bit and T5300 is 64bit. Is this the problem ? Is there a Bios upgrade needed ? If it is needed where can i download it from? Should i consider to change the CPU into another model dual core and which one would you recoment ?
Thank you in advance and sorry for my poor English.
sofos
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:39 am

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby hikaru » Sun Aug 30, 2009 8:14 am

If the BIOS started successfully and only Windows doesn't come up, a hardware reset might help:
Unplug power adapter and main battery and press the power button for about 15 seconds.

If this doesn't help you might have to reinstall Windows. Before you do so, check with a live CD if this boots correctly. If it doesn't your new CPU might be defective.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby sofos » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:12 am

Thank you for your immediate response.
You're right. Because the bios did'nt start at all. The cpu i bought is new.
My bios version is 1.0A and ihave already downloaded the 1.0D version which i believe is the last one released.
As i saw all bios versions are refered to Vista, but i run XP's. Should this be the problem ? Can i upgrade the Bios while running XP's or previously i should install Vista or even better Windows 7 ( i was told that the 7 are lighter than Vista)?
I would be very obliged if you could help (i'm not an expert in computing and i run out of ideas).

Thank you again for your kindness.
sofos
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:39 am

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby hikaru » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:47 am

So you can't even make it through the BIOS? A BIOS update might help but it can't be granted.
Most likely you'll have to reinstall the old CPU to do the BIOS update. The safest way would be to use the ISO image instead of the Windows executable.

Afterwards you can install the new CPU again and see what happens. It shouldn't matter if you run XP or Vista or Win7.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby sofos » Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:14 am

Yes i have already installed back the old cpu to the laptop and it's working ok.
The next thing that i'll do is to upgrade the bios and try the cpu again as you advise me.
It's my first bios upgrade and i'm little hesitating. I'll try to find some more info's in the internet about the procedure because as i undestand
errors and mistakes could be fatal for the machine. I'll keep you posted if i'll succeed.
Thanks again
sofos
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:39 am

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby sofos » Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:38 am

At last i finaly upgrated the bios, memmories (from 1gb to 2,5 gb) and Cpu from Celeron 430 to T5300 cuore 2 duo.
The laptop works fine and much faster than before.
The only problem that occured is a big delay while turning it on, in finding the nets. Although it loads the windows very fast, It needs about 10 min to find the nets
and all of this time the laptop is frozen! After that it works perfectly, it seems that it doubled its speed.
Do you have any ideas about this problem ?
sofos
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:39 am

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby hikaru » Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:20 am

No, I have no idea what causes this delay. Do you see something strange in the event log?
What happens if you set your network to a fixed IP address or if you uninstall your network card? Does it boot faster then?

Are you talking about wired or wireless network?
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby sofos » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:54 pm

Ι'm talking about the wireless network.
In the log file there is a yellow warning saying :
the computer couldn't renew its address from the net (from the server DHCP)from the net card which its address is 00C0A8D4C03B. The following error appeared : the function was cancelled by the user and the computer will keep on the effords by itself to regain an ip from the server DHCP.

Four minutes later a new error (with red X) appeared :
The computer quest service was terminated with the following error : This function was called back because the time limit was expired (as you have already understood, the log file is in Greek and maybe the translation doesn't match exactly).
sofos
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:39 am

Re: CPU upgrade

Postby sofos » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:57 pm

sofos wrote:Ι'm talking about the wireless network.
In the log file there is a yellow warning saying :
the computer couldn't renew its address from the net (from the server DHCP)from the net card which its address is 00C0A8D4C03B. The following error appeared : the function was cancelled by the user and the computer will keep on the effords by itself to regain an ip from the server DHCP.

Four minutes later a new error (with red X) appeared :
The computer quest service was terminated with the following error : This function was called back because the time limit was expired (as you have already understood, the log file is in Greek and maybe the translation doesn't match exactly).

I also tried to dellete and reload the drivers, but the problem still exists.
sofos
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:39 am


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron