amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Postby mi6oristi4 » Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:28 pm

Hello guys
I have an Amilo L1310G, Windows XP Home Edition 2002, Service Pack 3, 2x 256 RAM, Intel(R) Celeron(R) M Processor 1.61GHz ( i don't know my BIOS version, but i found that it is a " FirstBios Notebook Pro C2, Phoenix Technologies" )

I decided to upgrade my RAM memory to 2 GB, since i read that it is possible. I bought 2x1GB PC 2700 DDR SODIMM 333MHZ 200 Pin 2,5V and replaced the old ones.
The problem is that when i put 2X1GB and turn on the laptop i hear that it starts but the screen is black ! Nothing happens after that. But when i put 1 GB and one of the old 256 it works just fine. I tried every possible combination and the result is the same, it just won't work with 2X1 GB. Both of the new memory work fine but when they are combined with the old memory.
Once, when i tried to start the computer with 2X1 GB the screen turned on normally but after few seconds it turned off again. Another time again with 2X1GB it started fine but when the windows loaded and the desktop appeared , after few seconds i received the Blue Screen saying something about critical error, memory something .... i am sure that you have seen it before.

SO now i don't know what to do! I read a lot of stuff in the internet but i could not find any solution to this problem.
I read that if upgrading the BIOS to a newer version it could work, but the problem is that i don't know where to find a newer version for my BIOS. I tried in the web site of Phoenix but they want 30 $ for the upgrade ... No Way... So i looked everywhere and i could not find anything. So if you have any idea where to find a new BIOS version please share it . Or any program that can scan my BIOS and Download automatically a newer version, anything.. ?

I read also some suggestions that a 64bit Windows could support the new RAM but i am not sure if this will work. Do you ?

Honestly i don't know what to do next, so if you have any idea what can be done to start using this beautiful 2x1GB Please share it . Thanks a lot in advance !! :))
mi6oristi4
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Postby aspettl » Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:19 pm

mi6oristi4 wrote:So if you have any idea where to find a new BIOS version please share it .

Fujitsu provides version 1.0F:
http://support.ts.fujitsu.com/Download/ ... 20-%20BIOS (ISO CD image)

mi6oristi4 wrote:I read also some suggestions that a 64bit Windows could support the new RAM but i am not sure if this will work. Do you ?

Doesn't matter. The BIOS has to work, that's independent of Windows. (And it's not possible to install a 64 bit operating system anyway, your processor doesn't support it.)

If the current version of the BIOS doesn't solve the problem, then you'll have to try another pair of modules (different brand).

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Samsung NC10
  • Lifebook E8020D

Re: RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Postby mi6oristi4 » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:48 pm

Thank you :)
I will try today to update the bios and i will let you know the results :)

Regards
Misha
mi6oristi4
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Postby mi6oristi4 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:19 pm

I updated the bios successfully to version 1.0F (the previous was 1.0A) and now it is a little bit better.

Now it works perfectly fine with 1GB + 256MB. But the problem is still there. When i install 2GB it still shows black screen, fan running, and it is not loading anything.
I have found that when i start the pc First with 1bg+256mb and Then shut down and change to 2X1gb and start again, it works normal. Windows is loading and everything works fine. But when i restart the pc it will not work. The old problem comes back. Black screen, fan running... :shock: :?:

Any suggestions ??
mi6oristi4
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Postby andymcgra » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:29 pm

This is exactly what I'm going to attempt for my wife's Amilo L1310G.
I'd read somewhere you should be careful what RAM you buy. The cheapest available isn't a good idea.
I'm going thru these guys http://www.orcalogic.co.uk/asp/prodtype ... 25485&ft=m and I'll let you know if it works or not.
Have you read this thread?
topic,2340,-Ultimate-Fujitsu-Siemens-Amilo-L1310-g-upgrade-manual.html
andymcgra
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:23 pm

Re: RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Postby mi6oristi4 » Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:23 am

Yes, actually this topic was the reason i decided to upgrade it :)
And the RAM that i bought is called TRUMP and it was pretty cheap (67$ for 2x1gb) but now i know why ...
mi6oristi4
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: RAM Upgrade Problem L1310G PLS HELP

Postby mi6oristi4 » Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:10 am

OK guys
Today i managed somehow to start the windows with 2GB using my battery and it was working Great until the battery got empty. Just as i plugged in the AC power it started giving some critical errors, blue screen and restarted. Then it started again normally but only for few seconds. After that everything was the same. ( black screen, led working, fan running...) :(
Is it possible that the problem comes form the AC power ? Or maybe the battery :?: :roll:
mi6oristi4
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:53 pm


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron