amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory? Topic is solved

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby pinocten » Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:06 am

My gf's Amilo L1300 only have 1 gb ram and I want to upgrade it if possible. The chipset should support 2 gb ram, but officially the limit is 1 gb ram. So it could be a bios issue.

The magic question is (tadaaaa..):

Is it possible to upgrade the laptop with 2 gb ram?

If yes - the latest bios version is 1.13 according to http://support.ts.fujitsu.com/Download/ ... 20-%20BIOS .

Do I need to update the bios?


Thanks in advance
pinocten
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:54 am

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby hikaru » Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:28 am

A user in the german amilo-forum claimed that 2GB work. But he was from an online store and clearly tried to sell some stuff. I have no chance to confirm or disprove his assertion.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby pinocten » Thu Oct 22, 2009 5:09 pm

Yes. I believe I have found the thread you're mentioning.

What confuses me is the different kinds of datasheets I have found here and there. Some datasheets for the Amilo L1300 includes the Amilo L1310 which allows two gigs while others dont. Well. I will try to find a friend who have 2 spare 1gig so-dimm memory sticks.
pinocten
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:54 am

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby hikaru » Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:47 pm

If you found a data sheet that confirms 2GB to work this is a good sign. Contradicting data sheets are not unusual because when a notebook is released the corresponding data sheet doesn't contain the actual maximum of RAM but the maximum that is possible with the currently available RAM modules. So if the initial data sheet was written before 1GB modules were available it will claim 1GB to be the maximum. A later data sheet may then state 2GB to be the maximum.

Do you have a link for a data sheet with 2GB?
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby pinocten » Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:41 am

I have a wide selection :)

L1300 - dated september 2004: http://www.notebooksbilliger.de/pdfs/l1 ... 0b8e712dde

L1300/1310 - dated january 2006: http://de.ts.fujitsu.com/Resources/36/2102668335.pdf

L1310/1310G - dated may 2007: http://ts.fujitsu.com/Resources/103/628784658.pdf

The last pdf is what I get when I click the datasheet for L1300/1310G at http://ts.fujitsu.com/home/products/not ... chive.html. And especially this datasheet confuses me.
pinocten
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:54 am

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby hikaru » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:46 am

Thanks for the links!
According to these data sheets I would say that the first one is outdated and that the others clearly confirm, that 2GB are supported. Why are you confused by the last one? It says 2GB, both in the Features section and in the Memory section.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby pinocten » Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:51 am

It confuses me as top of page 2 says "Amilo L1310/1310G" and not "L1300", despite the link to the pdf is for the "L1300/L1310" models. :)
pinocten
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:54 am

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?  Topic is solved

Postby gwinkless » Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:10 am

I can confirm that the L1300 will take 1GB SODIMMs - I'm typing this on one that I've just upgraded to 1.5GB. I didn't need to upgrade the BIOS, it's running 1.06 (IIRC).

I used a low-density 1GB SODIMM, I expect that will probably be necessary but I haven't tried a cheaper high-density one.

Manufacturer is unnamed, chips are Hynix.

Hope this helps someone.
gwinkless
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:03 am

Re: amilo L1300 and 2 GB memory?

Postby pinocten » Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:49 pm

gwinkless wrote:I can confirm that the L1300 will take 1GB SODIMMs - I'm typing this on one that I've just upgraded to 1.5GB. I didn't need to upgrade the BIOS, it's running 1.06 (IIRC).



Great. Thanks. :)

I consider my question as solved with the answer from gwinkless.
pinocten
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:54 am


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron