amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

All problems with windows and windows drivers.

WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby skinious » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:28 am

Can I install Windows 7 in Si 1520?
Do I need special drivers?
Where can I find them?
Thnx

SKINIOUS
skinious
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:24 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby hikaru » Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:28 pm

In the german amilo-forum the user Duffman installed Win7 64bit successfully on the Si 1520:
https://www.amilo-forum.de/post,183376.html#p183376

He didn't say anything about the installation itself, so I guess it's pretty easy.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby gryzor » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:20 am

I'm going to install Windows 7 on my girlfriend's 1520 tomorrow, probably. I've been working with 7 for over a year now and I think it'll be a really good choice... so I'll report when everything is done.

Since I don't speak German, can anyone tell me if they say anything about drivers in the forum you linked to?

As a sidenote, I see he's running Aero, not really sure about how wise that is... but we'll see :)

Cheers
Gryzor
gryzor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby hikaru » Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:10 am

gryzor wrote:Since I don't speak German, can anyone tell me if they say anything about drivers in the forum you linked to?
No, he says nothing about drivers. So I guess there aren't any mayor problems.

gryzor wrote:As a sidenote, I see he's running Aero, not really sure about how wise that is... but we'll see :)
Can you tell it from the screenshot? I found no hint for Aero, but I'm definitely no Win7 expert. I guess the biggest problem might be the graphics card. At least it is the reason why all the nice effects in KDE4 are pretty useless on the Si 1520.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby gryzor » Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:57 am

I think that in the screenshot I see transparency used in the window elements. Which makes me a bit suspicious, not sure if the gfx card of the poor 1520 is up to it.

As I said, I'll give it a go either today or tomorrow, and will let you know!
gryzor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby gryzor » Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:50 am

OK guy,s last night I installed Win7 Ultimate on my trusty old 1520, which sports a paltry 768 megs of memory.

I'm happy ti report that it runs very nicely. It didn't need any drivers (though it did find a couple of updated ones upon checking the Windows Update server) and all hardware seems to be working perfectly. Aero is enabled by default and I can't see it causing any issues from the little I toyed with it!

After boot memory usage stands at 65%, but I didn't try really working with it yet. It's fast, it's good-looking (but how can you shrink desktop icons without a scroll wheel?) and fully functional.

Oh, also it reported that there's something wrong with my battery. I know there is (it dies very quickly after I unplug it, and I'm looking for a new one - any ideas???), but it was a surprise that Windows told me so :D

If anyone need more details - will be glad to give any and all :)
gryzor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby hikaru » Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:57 am

gryzor wrote:Oh, also it reported that there's something wrong with my battery. I know there is (it dies very quickly after I unplug it, and I'm looking for a new one - any ideas???), but it was a surprise that Windows told me so :D
I know a lot of reports that sound similar. I guess you never had any battery problems before.
The outcome is always the same: A new battery doesn't fix it. There seems to be something wrong in the Win7 ACPI management. I thought that was fixed with the official release, but it seems like it isn't.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby gryzor » Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:03 am

Nonono, as I said, my battery is as good as dead. It only lasts for a few minutes after I unplug it - maybe half an hour... that's why I'm looking for a replacement.

It's a shame that, although it tells me "there's something wrong with my battery", it doesn't give any more details...
gryzor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby hikaru » Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:14 am

gryzor wrote:It's a shame that, although it tells me "there's something wrong with my battery", it doesn't give any more details...
Which details would you expect to see?
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby gryzor » Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:16 am

hikaru wrote:
gryzor wrote:It's a shame that, although it tells me "there's something wrong with my battery", it doesn't give any more details...
Which details would you expect to see?


Well, let's see. If the mechanic tells you "there's something wrong with your car", what will be your first question? :D

I guess Win7 runs some diagnostics. It'd be helpful to know what diags failed and what this means...
gryzor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby hikaru » Thu Mar 11, 2010 4:12 pm

gryzor wrote:If the mechanic tells you "there's something wrong with your car", what will be your first question? :D
My car? Who gave me that car? ;-)

This is what a current Linux might give you (Source):
Code: Select all
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/alarm                2665000
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/current_now          0
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/energy_full          53310000
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/energy_full_design   56160000
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/energy_now           53230000
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/manufacturer         Panasonic
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/model_name           92P1139
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/present              1
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/serial_number        704
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/status               Unknown
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/technology           Li-ion
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/type                 Battery
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/voltage_min_design   10800000
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/voltage_now          12531000
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/uevent
    POWER_SUPPLY_NAME=BAT0
    POWER_SUPPLY_TYPE=Battery
    POWER_SUPPLY_STATUS=Unknown
    POWER_SUPPLY_PRESENT=1
    POWER_SUPPLY_TECHNOLOGY=Li-ion
    POWER_SUPPLY_VOLTAGE_MIN_DESIGN=10800000
    POWER_SUPPLY_VOLTAGE_NOW=12531000
    POWER_SUPPLY_CURRENT_NOW=0
    POWER_SUPPLY_POWER_NOW=0
    POWER_SUPPLY_ENERGY_FULL_DESIGN=56160000
    POWER_SUPPLY_ENERGY_FULL=53310000
    POWER_SUPPLY_ENERGY_NOW=53230000
    POWER_SUPPLY_MODEL_NAME=92P1139
    POWER_SUPPLY_MANUFACTURER=Panasonic
    POWER_SUPPLY_SERIAL_NUMBER=  704

I guess similar outputs are possible in Windows.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby gryzor » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:07 pm

Ahhhh this is Linux, of course! Great output... anyone knows of a win program that does this?
gryzor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby amilo_si_1520_nl » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:04 pm

Hi everyone,
Just put w7 on my amilo but seem to have a problem with 3 times "Base System-device !" they have the next locations, PCI-bus 7, apparaat 9, functie 4,
PCI-bus 7, apparaat 9, functie 3
PCI-bus 7, apparaat 9, functie 2 translation; PCI-bus 7, device 9, function 4
PCI-bus 7, device 9, function 3
PCI-bus 7, device 9, function 2 all with (Code 28) under it
can anyone tell me what to do?
haven't found any problems yet but just hope to sort this out anyway?
p.s. i'm not really good with computers just have some basic skills, so mayby shouldn't start with w7 in the first place...lol but plz if anyone can help me thanx!?
amilo_si_1520_nl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 10:48 pm

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby gryzor » Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:10 am

Sorry I can't reply to that (I've got a couple of devices myself that way), but I thought I'd say that it's good to install the Synaptics drivers for the touch pad. Not that it doesn't work out of the box, but the finger-scrolling is very abrupt and fast...
gryzor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 am

Re: WINDOWS 7 in AMILO Si 1520

Postby hikaru » Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:28 am

amilo_si_1520_nl wrote:Just put w7 on my amilo but seem to have a problem with 3 times "Base System-device !"
Most likely this is your card reader. You get this message thrice because internally there is a different controller for each card type. Please check if your card reader works. If it doesn't, I'd try if the Vista driver works.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Next

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest