amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Installed new XP pro...hard disk not found? PLEASE HELP

All kinds of problems or malfunctions without known reason. Also general problems with the notebook as a whole.

Installed new XP pro...hard disk not found? PLEASE HELP

Postby jwardmagic » Tue Dec 08, 2009 7:52 pm

Okay, so I tried to install windows XP on my fujitsu siemens Amilo Pro v2035 laptop due to a virus and after pressing enter on the ''setup new windows xp installation'' screen, a message saying ''Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer''.

I read that this is because the SATA driver isn't on the XP CD.
What do I do to fix this?
Do I need to download the Sata driver and include it on a XP CD, burning it using nlite? If so, where do I get the Sata driver?
jwardmagic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 7:42 pm

Re: Installed new XP pro...hard disk not found? PLEASE HELP

Postby hikaru » Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:22 am

You will find all information you need in this how-to:
https://www.amilo-forum.com/topic,26,-Installation-of-Windows-XP-Home-Pro-PE-FAQs.html

I'm not absolutely sure but I guess you'll need this driver (direct download - 25MB):
http://www.viaarena.com/Driver/VIA_V-RAID_SoftwarePackage_V5.zip
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Installed new XP pro...hard disk not found? PLEASE HELP

Postby jwardmagic » Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:53 pm

I did what those instructions said to teh word and just got an error message: The file viamrx64.sys is corrupted. Press any key to continue....So I press a key and another message saying: Setup failed. PRess any key to restart your computer. ??????????????? :( :(
jwardmagic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 7:42 pm

Re: Installed new XP pro...hard disk not found? PLEASE HELP

Postby hikaru » Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:56 am

I guess something went wrong while creating the ISO or burning the CD. You should try it again.
You can also use CD-RWs if you don't want to waste discs.
Sometimes xpisobuilder causes some trouble. In this case you should try nlite instead.

Why does the setup ask for a 64bit driver? Do you try to install a 64bit XP or did you integrate the wrong driver?
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Installed new XP pro...hard disk not found? PLEASE HELP

Postby jwardmagic » Mon Dec 28, 2009 4:38 pm

iv got no clue why it asked for a 64bit driver. What have I done wrong?
jwardmagic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 7:42 pm


Return to General problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron