amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby spoker » Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:40 pm

Hi

i`m new here

Today i try to upgrade my CPU, original Celeron M 420 new Intel Pentium Dual Core T2080, effect: don`t wake up, screen is black, what is wrong?
My notebook is FS AmiloPro 2055, there is socket M, 478A
spoker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby aspettl » Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:14 pm

Are you sure you inserted the CPU correctly?

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Samsung NC10
  • Lifebook E8020D

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby spoker » Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:48 pm

of course, i`m sure cpu was inserted correctly, when i turn ON notebook hdd and fan are working, maybe i need to reset the bios? any sugestions?
spoker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby DracoRaptor » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:57 pm

I'm not an expert - this is just a thought

The Celeron M 420 normally runs at 1.6 Ghz and expects a 533Mhz Frontside bus.

The correct Core Duo Replacement for this Processor is the T2050 which also runs at 1.6Ghz and expects a 533Mhz Frontside bus.

This also means you don't need to change your memory which is also expecting to run at 533MHz

I'm not sure what the effect of using a T2080 which runs at 1.73Ghz will have, but It could be a timing issue that the Notebook can't handle.
User avatar
DracoRaptor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:45 pm
Notebook:
  • Amilo Pro V2055

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby zub733 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:57 am

Hello
I bought a Pentium T2050. To upgrade Celeron M420-> Pentium T2050 at V2055, the laptop is running slower than the Celeron, CPU-Z shows the CPU clock 133 * 6 = 800Mhz, processor voltage to 0.96, the notebook becomes unstable and hangs in the programs is very heavy CPU. Windows XP SP3 does not regulate the performance Data.dat technology IntelSpeedstep. Using Utilities NHC, Rmclock, CrystalCPUID does not correct the situation.
I tried to work under FreeBSD 8.0, works a little better, but occasionally still hangs only when you start X-server with KDE and watch a movie with high resolution. In the BSD console is stable for days, even if the re-build the kernel, or re-compile KDE (and it lasts for several tens of hours:), at full load CPU).
Very disappointed, spent several weeks on the experiments in vain ... really will have to return Celeron M420 back?
After all, according to this document from the official site this should work http://www.fujitsu-siemens-shop.ru/i/pdf/V2055.pdf.
Maybe someone knows the solution ... please!
zub733
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:34 am
Location: Rostov-on-Don Russia
Notebook:
  • AmiloPro V2055

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby aspettl » Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:20 pm

Did you already try the hardware reset (see FAQ)? Seems like the BIOS has some problems with the CPU. Maybe there is a BIOS update?

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Samsung NC10
  • Lifebook E8020D

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby zub733 » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:06 am

aspettl wrote:Did you already try the hardware reset (see FAQ)? Seems like the BIOS has some problems with the CPU. Maybe there is a BIOS update?

Thank you for your reply, Aaron.
Yes, hardware reset, was not made at once :) according to the FAQ of this site.
I tried different versions of BIOS for this model laptop, after installing each BIOS did hardware reset. Currently running the latest BIOS from the site fujitsu.com / support / downloads.html (Version: 1.0F Date: 19.09.2006). The result of the change BIOS does not change, the laptop hangs in WinXP ... And it happens more often when you run Skype and WindowsMediaPlayer hangs immediately. Now compile the kernel and world FreeBsd 8.1 on this laptop processor T2050, all assembled properly for several hours at full load the CPU, but if you start X-server + KDE + Vcl media player + is what some demanding applications, a laptop with a probability of 50% will hang.
In FreeBSD, I installed Powerd daemon (to support the technology EIST) which dynamically changes the FID CPU from 800 to 1600 Ghz, and it works. But I do not know whether the VID (voltage change CPU core)? To test I set mbmon, check the processor may hang because of what is not working dynamic change VID?
In WinXP wilt not have any way to get to work EIST, I already wrote about it.
Generally, this will be my lesson, I will never buy a laptop with a processor from INTEL , and chipset not from INTEL :) (in V2055 is VIA VM800 chipset).
Actually I have already worn out with this experiment and I think back Tseleron M420
Regards Sergey!
zub733
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:34 am
Location: Rostov-on-Don Russia
Notebook:
  • AmiloPro V2055

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby hikaru » Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:22 am

Your problems with the CPU speed under Windows seem very similar what was described and solved here (the V2030 has the same chipset like the V2055) :
https://www.amilo-forum.com/post,7473.html#p7473

Im not very familiar with mbmon and FreeBSDs power management in general, but when compiling software, the CPU is almost always on full load and therefore the VID should be constant. But if you run applications the CPU load changes a lot which will lead to quickly changing VIDs. Maybe your problem isn't the VID itself, but some latency between CPU frequency increase and VID increase that sometimes leads to those hangs you notice.
If I'm correct, setting the VID to the maximum for all p-states should give you a stable system. Of course, this is no permanent solution, but it might help tracking down the bug.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby zub733 » Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:51 am

Thank you for your answer!
I read about V2030 Processor Upgrade Tutorial, first and foremost tried Notebook Hardware Control programm, but I have not worked, then I have consistently tried to make it work c Rmclock, CrystalCPUID ... only CrystalCPUID works and has changed FID and VID, but the laptop still hung (and at the moment hangs always been the maximum frequency and voltage of the processor).
Good idea, thanks, I'll try to put the maximum VID for all P-state, so they did not change with frequency. Just try to make it work NHC
Regards,Sergey.
zub733
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:34 am
Location: Rostov-on-Don Russia
Notebook:
  • AmiloPro V2055

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby zub733 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:57 am

Nothing came of it, the laptop hangs anyway.
Using the Utility rmclock was fruitless.
There have been exhibited maximum values of VID FID, for all modes of 1.264v and 1600MHZ, but the laptop is still unpredictable hangs in WinXP to FreeBSD, rare but still hangs when X server is running ....
I'm sick to the back Celeron M420, throw trying to get to work correctly T2050 in FS V2055. As stated in the popular Russian proverb "This "plane(aircraft)" will not fly :) " .... Frustrated
zub733
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:34 am
Location: Rostov-on-Don Russia
Notebook:
  • AmiloPro V2055

Re: AmiloPro V2055 CPU upgrade....

Postby katar83 » Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:38 pm

I thought I'll register here and post on how to upgrade CPU in V2055
I got myself a T2050 CPU,as someone mentioned before the CPU is stuck at 800mhz after booting to windows and NHC or RMCLOCK wont work.
The laptop is upgraded to the latest bios.
The freezing, hangs on boot up is caused by the memory modules. I have upgraded to 533mhz memory and the laptop worked fine although still stucked at 800mhz
I have found that by installing both NHC and RMClock and starting them at startup solves the CPU problem.
NHC on its own or RMClock on its own dont work. Together they work fine and CPU speed step work fine from 800mhz to 1.6Ghz. I have obviously changed settings in both to allow all multipliers, hidden all icons from the tray and all is fine now.
Temp approx 60C. Battery life improved. Fan works as usual. Performance much better
katar83
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:30 pm


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron