amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Another RAM question for Amilo Pro V2030

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

Another RAM question for Amilo Pro V2030

Postby constant » Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:36 pm

Hi everyone,

I've noticed quite a few questions on RAM and the V2030 when I searched the forums, but I haven't seen anyone with quite the same problem as this. My V2030 already had two 256mb sticks in it and I bought two 512mb RAM sticks to replace those. If I use only one of the new 512mb sticks there are no problems and memtest 86+ passes fine. If I put in both 512mb sticks or one of the new sticks and one of the old then Windows will BSOD and memtest 86+ fails. Since the individual 512mb sticks pass memtest 86+ I'm under the impression that they are ok and it is something else causing the problem. Does anyone have any ideas what might be wrong? Is there something obvious that I'm missing? Or is it just some random compatibility thing with these RAM sticks and I just got unlucky?

The new RAM is Hynix 512MB 2Rx16 PC2-4200S-444-12 HYMP564S64BP6-C4

The old RAM is Infineon HYS64T32000HDL.

Thanks for any help on this!
constant
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Another RAM question for Amilo Pro V2030

Postby aspettl » Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:46 am

Hi

constant wrote:Or is it just some random compatibility thing with these RAM sticks and I just got unlucky?

That's possible.

Does a single module also work if it is inserted in the second slot instead of the first?

(I suppose there are no BIOS settings available regarding RAM speed, timings etc.?)

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Samsung NC10
  • Lifebook E8020D

Re: Another RAM question for Amilo Pro V2030

Postby alexlloyd54 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:26 pm

Are they both (old and new memory modules) same type? I mean DDR or DDR2 or whatever? cause you can't mix different type

How about the speed of these modules? though the speed does not give you any problem

another thing to consider is if your try to mix modules with parity with non-parity modules.
people shy away from those in trouble, as if they might catch it by coming too close!

(Somebody)

:)
User avatar
alexlloyd54
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:23 am
Location: Kuwait
Notebook:
  • Amilo 1505

Re: Another RAM question for Amilo Pro V2030

Postby constant » Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:53 pm

Thanks for the responses so far!
aspettl wrote:Does a single module also work if it is inserted in the second slot instead of the first?

(I suppose there are no BIOS settings available regarding RAM speed, timings etc.?)

A single module (both old and new ones) does work in either slot. There also does not appear to be any options in the BIOS regarding the RAM speed, voltage, timings or anything like that. The only information listed about the RAM in the BIOS is the total amount installed. I don't suppose there's anyway to adjust those things if the BIOS doesn't have those settings available for change?
alexlloyd54 wrote:Are they both (old and new memory modules) same type? I mean DDR or DDR2 or whatever? cause you can't mix different type

How about the speed of these modules? though the speed does not give you any problem

another thing to consider is if your try to mix modules with parity with non-parity modules.

All the modules are the same type (at least as far as I can tell): DDR2 PC4200 533MHZ

I'm not an expert on the parity non-parity RAM stuff so I don't know if that is an issue with these. Both the new 512MB modules are of the same serial number that I listed in the first post, so I guess that would mean they are both either parity or non-parity RAM?

Thanks again for the help.
constant
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:21 pm


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron