amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Problems with mainboard, BIOS, BIOS update, battery, AC adapter.

Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:55 pm

Hi,

One week ago, I can access to my bios setup on my Amilo Pro V3505

I run 'Repair Computer' and say the white bar (system files load or repair) and then, a black screen with Microsoft Vista at the bottom of the screen, and then, nothing more. After a few minutes, I couldn't shut down whith the appropiate button, so I decided to force by unplugging.
I tried 2 times more, and I noticed that I can enter anymore to my Bios setup. I think this is the real reason but I can't omitted that I had others troubles with my Vista accounts.

From now after rebooting, I pressed F2, the default key for the BIOS. Nothing happens. No bios, it just boots. So I tried several other keys.

Whilst pressing F4, I found that the laptop stated "Entering Setup..."
Great! Well, not so great, actually, because it states that it enters the setup, but doesnt. It just boots.

I tried also by removing both Ram sticks and one by one.

How can I solve this troubles ? I hear that remove CMOS battery can solve this trouble, is that true ? Also, someone tell me to use the freeware WipeCmos.

Anyway, I can boot up with a CD boot neither USB stick.

How can I solve this trouble to enter into my BIOS ?


Thanks in advance, please give me a reply.

Best Regards,

Ramaflore
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby hikaru » Thu Nov 25, 2010 3:56 pm

No idea if this helps, but you could try a hardware reset:
Remove power pack and main battery and hold the power button for approximately 30 seconds. This has mostly the same effect like removing the CMOS battery.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:08 pm

Remove battery it's not a problem as I don't have batteries since one year i think.

What do you mean by remove power pack , to unplug ?
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby hikaru » Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:26 pm

ramaflore wrote:What do you mean by remove power pack , to unplug ?
Yes.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:37 pm

I disconnected the power, swith off with the cable off ( and of course, no battery) during 30 sec, and nothing happens.

Do I tried also with switching on power during 30 sec (with no battery) ?
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:16 am

Do I need the numlock ON to use the F2 key ? In my case, when I boot up, my numlock is OFF.
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:45 pm

Need you answer, thanks !

When I start my laptop and I press Esc key, I can read the system ram, I have 1014 or 1015 Mb, this is not correct I think.

I have 2 RAM sticks 512 Mb in my laptop.
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby hikaru » Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:57 am

Sorry for letting you wait, but I'm mostly offline during weekends.

If main battery and power pack are disconnected the only power source left is the CMOS battery. The idea of the hardware reset is that by pressing the power button this connection will be interrupted too and holding the button is for depleting any electric charge that is left.
So it is normal that you can't see any effect during the procedure, but afterwards the BIOS should be reset to factory defaults.

The NumLock key should not have any effect on F2 since it doesn't have another function when NumLock is activated. Mine works either way.

As for the RAM, the 1015/1016MB are ok. Your graphics card uses shared memory which it takes from the main RAM. So if the graphics card uses 16MB, there are 1016MB left of the 1024MB you have installed. I'm not sure how the BIOS handles the RAM that it needs on its own to display something on the screen. 1MB is a common amount and if it doesn't return that RAM after the OS is started this mightaccount for the additional missing 1MB.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:24 pm

Hikaru,

I tried more than 1 minute by pressing the power button. Should I waiting for more time ?

Thanks for all details, I really appreciate it !
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby hikaru » Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:57 pm

ramaflore wrote:I tried more than 1 minute by pressing the power button. Should I waiting for more time ?
No, I don't think that makes sense. We have reports that the depletion time varies between 10 and 40 seconds, but I've never heard of 1 minute or more.

If I understand you correctly the laptop always boots from the HDD, no matter what you do. Can you enter the BIOS boot menu with F12?
If that still doesn't work, what happens if you insert a bootable CD into the DVD drive, physically remove the HDD and try to boot?
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:59 am

hikaru wrote:
ramaflore wrote:If I understand you correctly the laptop always boots from the HDD, no matter what you do. YES

Can you enter the BIOS boot menu with F12? NO, I can't
If that still doesn't work, what happens if you insert a bootable CD into the DVD drive, It boots automatically the OS

physically remove the HDD and try to boot?
I haven't tried yet, I don't know how to do it. Is it risky ? :?
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby hikaru » Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:12 pm

ramaflore wrote:I haven't tried yet, I don't know how to do it. Is it risky ? :?
You should be careful, like you should always be when handling computers, but it isn't risky.
On the underside of the laptop you'll find one, probably two service doors. Behind that you'll find the HDD sitting in a caddy. This caddy is fixed with 3 or 4 screws. After unscrewing them you should be able to pull the HDD caddy off the SATA port.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:44 pm

I think it's located next to CD Drive but I will do it, once I get the right screwdriver, I've to ask to a friend.
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby ramaflore » Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:32 pm

I pull off the HD and I reboot with F2 key, but nothing news.

I did the same with HDD + 2 Memory sticks off = nothing changes.

What do you suggest by now ?

I was wondering if low temperature can reset the CMOS. In my country, it's too cold during the night, -4 °C, do you think that CMOS could reset ?
ramaflore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Can't enter to the Bios setup with F2 key

Postby hikaru » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:51 am

Frankly I have no idea what else you can do.
Under normal circumstances I'd strongly advise not to do the shock frosting experiment since I don't see how it should work and when you bring the laptop back to your warm room a lot of water will condense at the cold parts which most likely will do even more damage. But on the other hand you've got nothing to lose. So you might as well try if it works. But before you do so remove all parts that might be of any value (especially the HDD with your data and maybe the RAM). And after bringing the laptop back inside leave it drying for 2 or 3 days.
But I think the better idea would be to give it to some computer or TV repair shop and ask them if they can help you out. I'm speaking of a real electronics craftsman, not a pure hardware vendor.
User avatar
hikaru
Moderator
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:23 am
Notebook:
  • Dell Precision M6500
  • Amilo Si 1520
  • Desktop
  • Asus EEE 901

Next

Return to Mainboard, BIOS, battery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron