amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

3438G freze/black scrn (for a second) silent buttn resolves

Display problems, black screen, TV-Out,...

3438G freze/black scrn (for a second) silent buttn resolves

Postby makdaddy » Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:45 am

Hi !

I have browsed through other threads and checked the FAQ but i am unable to find a thread with the same problem i am experiencing.

Over the last few days my 3438G has been freezing for a second then the screen blacks out for another second then it resumes as normal for a minute or 2 then the freeze / blackout happens again.

If i switch on the silent mode it resolves the issue ! ...no hangs or black screens.

I dont have to be doing or running anything in particular, the problem begins after the machine has booted.

Help ! its driving me nuts :x

Many thanks

Iain
Last edited by aspettl on Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: aspettl (Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:49 pm): Moved.
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby makdaddy » Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:53 pm

a quick update.

today i have been doing some general housework.

I have virus scanned, spyware scanned and defragged the c: drive, I have also reset the bios to default.

the problem still exists :cry:

one thing i have just noticed is the the fault disappears if i run the machine from the battery.
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby aspettl » Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:46 pm

Could you monitor the cpu and gpu temperatures? Maybe it's overheating...

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby makdaddy » Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:01 pm

aspettl wrote:Could you monitor the cpu and gpu temperatures? Maybe it's overheating...

Regards
Aaron


sure, i will monitor the temps again this evening.

Heres a snapshot from last night.

The machine had been on for around 5 hours doing a defrag while i was out ( mains power in but with silent on), i then took the temps of the CPU & GPU and refreshed them every 5 mins or so for around 30 mins.

the reading were constant.

CPU was running at 53 deg.

GPU was running at 66 Deg.

both of those reading were with the mains power on, fans running 100% silent mode off.


As i said i will do this again tonight over a longer period of time.

What are the safe temperatures for these components ?


Thanks for your help btw !


Iain
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby aspettl » Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:00 pm

These temperatures are normal, it's critical over 80°C, somewhere over 90°C the laptop powers off.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby makdaddy » Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:38 pm

OK thanks

That's reassuring....sort of !
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby makdaddy » Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:34 pm

Booted to safe mode & plugged in mains power...10 mins of use and not a single glitch.

returned windows to normal and plugged the mains in again...same error.

Checked the event logs as found this

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Service Control Manager
Event Category: None
Event ID: 7022
Date: 08/01/2007
Time: 20:26:32
User: N/A
Computer: MAKDADDY
Description:
The NVIDIA Display Driver Service service hung on starting.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


Does this mean i should find and install the nvidia drivers for the geforce 68000 go ??
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby aspettl » Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:39 pm

Yes, I'd try that. Which drivers do you use at the moment?

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby makdaddy » Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:14 pm

hey Aspetti

I didnt make a note of the original driver that was corrupting ( it was the driver that shipped with the unit)

but its OK , i am Sorted :)

hopefully..as last time i tried to make this post (about 30mins ago) my computer crashed mid post.

so...

booted to safe mode and uninstalled the video drivers then booted to windows normally and re-installed the latest video driver 78.10 from FSC

this lasted about 6 mins then crashed.

Did the same again but with the previous release if the driver 72.50 and so far so good.. its been around 20 mins now.

Thanks to everyone for your help ! and fingers crossed i wont be back again with the same issue :D
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby makdaddy » Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:48 am

makdaddy wrote:fingers crossed i wont be back again with the same issue :D


* uncrosses fingers and curses under breath * gggrrr.r........

approx 24 hrs after my machine has been running OK the same problem came back :sad:
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby makdaddy » Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:42 pm

Apologies, i just realised this is in the wrong forum.

would it receive more attention if it was in the " Graphics, display " forum ?
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby makdaddy » Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:38 am

well, without doing anything to my system its now OK again

*confused but happy*
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby makdaddy » Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:21 am

im back same problem

back in jan the resolved issue never lasted long before it came back again.

since then i have followed bluehairs tutorial and updated the Bios and have tried several different driver releases ( all the ones available from FSC ).

no joy.

I then tried removing one of the 512mb ram sticks from the laptop... bingo ! it booted with the power cable in and ran on full cpu for a good hour or so, then i shut it down and swapped the memory sticks over to see if it would boot OK with the other memory stick.. it wouldnt, original problem was occurring.

so i swapped them back to the ram stick that booted up OK and tried again... no joy, i guess the previous successfull boot was just a fluke as i have tried and tried again without suceess

I guess its just time to send it back for a service ( a few months out of warranty too GGrrrrrr !! )

unless anyone has any further suggestions ?

Does anyone know of any utilities to test Nvidia Ram ?

Many Thanks

Iain Mak
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes

Postby makdaddy » Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:27 am

Hi

I tested the laptop with a monitor attached via dvi/vga converter, the fault followed through onto the external display.

i guess this means its not the inverter board
makdaddy
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am
Location: UK, Milton Keynes


Return to Graphics, display

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron