amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

Graphics Problem - v2030

Display problems, black screen, TV-Out,...

Graphics Problem - v2030

Postby my_fsc_v2030 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:44 pm

Having problems again.

A file in C:\WINDOWS\system32 called Vmodes.exe was run and the screen corrupted and went into a lot of flickering lines. If I opened the start menu then the lines moved and changed color. I could see anything on the screen, except the lines. I rebooted, and the problem remained. So I booted into safe mode, which started fine. i then did a system restore to before the problem, and when windows started up, it was fine. This was a few weeks ago.
Today, I tried to boot into safe mode, and as soon as the desktop loads, I get the flickering lines, but they don't appear in normal Windows mode. I am unsure if this had been around since the previous time, so I am unsure when to system restore to. Are there any ways to stop this? Should I reinstall graphics drivers?

EDIT: I didnt fix it by doing system restore. I started windows in vga mode then increase. the resolution. Today, I uninstalled the drivers for the card, and then rebooted. Sure enough, the fuzzy lines and corrupt display appeared, which I think means something is wrong with Windows' default vga driver that is used in safemode. But then i restarted with the enable vga mode option, and windows started. I reinstalled the drivers, and windows is fine. But safemode remains the same. :? Any way to force safe mode to use the graphics drivers?
my_fsc_v2030
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: UK
Notebook:
  • Amilo Pro v2030

Postby aspettl » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:32 pm

It is possible that there's a hardware failure, but strange nonetheless (damaged graphics chip => often only vga mode works).
Did you try the hardware reset described in the FAQ?

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

done

Postby my_fsc_v2030 » Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:06 pm

I've tried the hardware reset twice, just incase I did it wrong the first time. No luck. I dont think its a damged chipset, because it started as soon as vmodes.exe ran. I can still get into Normal Windows fine as well.
And what exactly is vmodes.exe? What does it do?
my_fsc_v2030
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: UK
Notebook:
  • Amilo Pro v2030

Postby aspettl » Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:15 pm

Never heard of this file :roll:

Gruß
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby my_fsc_v2030 » Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:11 pm

OK, so I found out that vmodes.exe is used by setup.exe, and changes the video setting of the monitor. So when it ran, it put my screen out of range. It's also a command line application. That's all I can find out about it from the internet. However, I think I have a solution. I'm going to try two things:

1) Add safe mode to the boot menu, and then try F8>Enable VGA Mode>Safe Mode, to see if that restores it.

2) I will "refresh" Windows.

If none of these work, looks like a reformat again. :(
my_fsc_v2030
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: UK
Notebook:
  • Amilo Pro v2030


Return to Graphics, display

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron