amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

RAM in M1450G

Everything around CPU, RAM or cooling of notebook components.

RAM in M1450G

Postby tigra » Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:11 pm

Hello!

I have a couple of questions.
My Amilo M1450G has 512 Mb RAM.
After removing back cover (only one cover, I did not continue to break notebook) I've found 1 memory slot with 256 MB SO DIMM, pc3200, 333.
So, my questions are:
1) where is 256 MB more?
2) is there only one memory slot?
3) if no, how can I reach the second one?
4) what type of DIMM can I use to upgrade RAM (frequency, ddr2/ddr etc.)?
5) what is maximum possible RAM for that model?

I've lost my manual, so if someone knows, I would appreciate any answers.
Thanks a lot!
tigra
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:55 pm

Re: RAM in M1450G

Postby aspettl » Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:11 pm

Hello

The other slot is behind the keyboard, you can only use DDR (1) modules. 200 pins of course.
2 x 1 GB should work.

tigra wrote:pc3200, 333.

PC2700 = DDR-333
PC3200 = DDR-400
But both should work in your laptop.

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby tigra » Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:20 am

Hi!
Thanks a lot, Aaron!

There was a mark 256MB ... 1Rx16 PC2-3200S-333-12 So I thought, it was 333, PC3200.

Is it difficult to get the second memory stick (behind the keyboard)? Or it would be much more better to use the service centers?

And is it unrecommended to change only one mem. stick, let's say, from 256MB to 1G ??

Best regards,
Tigran
tigra
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:55 pm

Postby aspettl » Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:29 pm

tigra wrote:Is it difficult to get the second memory stick (behind the keyboard)?

Shouldn't be that hard, but I never has this laptop, so I can't say for sure.

tigra wrote:And is it unrecommended to change only one mem. stick, let's say, from 256MB to 1G ??

There's only a higher risk of incompatibility.

Edit:
I don't know if your laptop supports dual channel. If so, then it would be good to use two identical modules.
(The data sheet doesn't mention it.)

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby CHMK » Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:22 pm

As far as I know, M1450G has dual-channel mode as default. You should use equal RAM madules.
CHMK
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:04 pm
Location: Poland

Postby tigra » Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:59 am

Thanks for reply!

Does it have a big difference, if I will install different mem. sticks? I mean if I do not use dual channel...

btw, on e-bay, http://cgi.ebay.ca/Hynix-256-MB-1Rx16-P ... dZViewItem
it's written that mem. sticks like I have - DDR2 (not DDR (1))
here too: http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/ubb ... 5005193731

thanks again for reply
tigra
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:55 pm

Postby CHMK » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:58 pm

You do use 2CH mode. I couldn't find, how to disable it. Maybe someone else figured how to do that?
CHMK
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:04 pm
Location: Poland

Postby tigra » Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:17 pm

For example, use 1 memory stick or 2 sticks with different sizes )
tigra
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:55 pm


Return to CPU, RAM, fan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron