amilo-forum.com

Everything you need to know about Amilo and Lifebook laptops by Fujitsu

SI1520 BIOS downgrade

Problems with mainboard, BIOS, BIOS update, battery, AC adapter.

SI1520 BIOS downgrade

Postby Sciamano » Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:55 am

Hello, everyone.
On my Amilo SI1520 with C2D T7200 running Ubuntu Linux (version 7.04 beta "Feisty Fawn") the touchpad won't work after a suspend/resume.

A reader of my blog suggested to downgrade the BIOS to version 1.10, since he says everything works with this version, and later versions of the BIOS only added support to Yonah CPUs.

I checked on the Fujitsu website and what he says is true, the only problem is that in the description of v1.19 it says:

"predecessor BIOS V 1.19:
Solved problems:

- None

Known errors, problems and restrictions:

- None

Additional information:
- This BIOS 1.19 is the initial BIOS for Windows Vista 32bit.
"

Does this mean that with v1.10 Vista won't work? My system is actually a dual boot with Vista and Ubuntu...

Thanks
Ciao!
Luca

Visit the Amilo SI1520 Blog!
User avatar
Sciamano
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:57 pm
Location: Milano, Italy
Notebook:
  • FSC Amilo SI1520

Postby Sciamano » Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:26 am

anyone? :(
Ciao!
Luca

Visit the Amilo SI1520 Blog!
User avatar
Sciamano
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:57 pm
Location: Milano, Italy
Notebook:
  • FSC Amilo SI1520

Postby aspettl » Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:51 am

Possible that some things won't work correctly in Vista, e.g. dynamic CPU speed, suspend (these are the most critical, I think).

Regards
Aaron
User avatar
aspettl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Notebook:
  • Lifebook E8020D

Postby Sciamano » Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:40 pm

There's no better thing than trying! :)

I've downgraded the BIOS version to 1.10 and as a result:

* In Ubuntu: the touchpad now works after a suspend/resume
* In Windows Vista: no problems detected so far
Ciao!
Luca

Visit the Amilo SI1520 Blog!
User avatar
Sciamano
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:57 pm
Location: Milano, Italy
Notebook:
  • FSC Amilo SI1520

Postby zzs » Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:29 pm

Hi!

I have an Amilo Pro V3205 with BIOS version 1.20. I use Linux (currently Ubuntu 7.10) and I have the same suspend problem: touchpad does not work after suspend/resume.

I have an 1.86GHz Intel CoreDuo T2350 processor.

Can I downgrade the BIOS to version to 1.10? Will work with this type of processor?

Thanks for help!

cat /proc/cpuinfo (the same for both cores):
Code: Select all
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 14
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM) Duo CPU      T2350  @ 1.86GHz
stepping        : 12
cpu MHz         : 800.000
cache size      : 2048 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 2
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx constant_tsc pni monitor est tm2 xtpr
bogomips        : 3729.26
clflush size    : 64
zzs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:14 pm

Postby Sciamano » Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:45 am

It should work, since the T2350 is a Yonah CPU
Ciao!
Luca

Visit the Amilo SI1520 Blog!
User avatar
Sciamano
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:57 pm
Location: Milano, Italy
Notebook:
  • FSC Amilo SI1520

Postby zzs » Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:58 am

Sciamano wrote:It should work, since the T2350 is a Yonah CPU


Are you sure? This blog post says if I have a yonah T2x00 processor I have to stick with bios version >=1.17:

http://si1520.blogspot.com/2007/04/touc ... after.html

"If your SI1520 does NOT mount an Intel Core Duo (Yonah) D0 stepping processor (which means mainly those CPUs coded T2x00) you can downgrade to version 1.10. Otherwise you'll have to stick with a BIOS version >= 1.17 and with no touchpad after resume. :-("

Thanks for th answer!
zzs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:14 pm

Postby Sciamano » Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:37 am

Sorry, I was in a hurry this morning and I realize my reply was incomplete.

BTW, the post you quoted is taken from my own blog... :-)

Yours is a Yonah CPU but it should not be a D0 stepping one.
AFAIK the T2350 either has an "ES" stepping or a "C0" stepping. I'm not sure if this makes a difference, because the only info I have is related to non-Yonah CPUs at all (mine is a "Merom", and downgrading the BIOS works).

But the info on BIOS 1.17 (the version released after 1.10) says:
current BIOS V 1.17:
Solved problems:

- None

Known errors, problems and restrictions:
- None

Additional information:
- Intel Core Duo (Yonah) D0 stepping processors are now supported.


Therefore it looks like only D0 stepping processors need this (v1.17). Yours SHOULD NOT be a D0 processor.

Anyway, since BIOS upgrading/downgrading is reversible, my suggestion is: downgrade the BIOS and try. If it still does not work, just get back to v1.20

Of course, what I stated on my blog, is valid for this post too:

Necessary legal disclaimer:

Reasonable effort is made to ensure that the information provided on this blog is accurate, however, no guarantees for the currency or accuracy of information are made. This blog's information is provided "as is", without warranty of any kind, whether expressed or implied.

This blog and its author make no guarantee and hold no responsibility for any damage, injury, loss of property, loss of data, loss of any and all resources, or any negative influence what-so-ever, that may result from any and all usage of the information found on this blog, or linked from this blog.

Negative consequences of your usage of this blog are solely your problem and your responsibility. All consequences of the usage of this blog do not involve this blog and its author, at all, ever. You hold full responsibility for your actions.

Use this blog's information resources at your own risk.
Ciao!
Luca

Visit the Amilo SI1520 Blog!
User avatar
Sciamano
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:57 pm
Location: Milano, Italy
Notebook:
  • FSC Amilo SI1520

Postby zzs » Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:20 pm

Sciamano wrote:Sorry, I was in a hurry this morning and I realize my reply was incomplete.

BTW, the post you quoted is taken from my own blog... :-)

:)

Yours is a Yonah CPU but it should not be a D0 stepping one.
AFAIK the T2350 either has an "ES" stepping or a "C0" stepping. I'm not sure if this makes a difference, because the only info I have is related to non-Yonah CPUs at all (mine is a "Merom", and downgrading the BIOS works). ...


Thank you (again) for the quick reply! I'll try the downgrade (tonight, maybe). I hope it will work :) My laptop works perfectly with ubuntu, except this annoying dead touchpad after suspend/resume problem.
zzs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:14 pm

Postby Sciamano » Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:37 pm

zzs wrote:Thank you (again) for the quick reply!


No problem!

zzs wrote:I'll try the downgrade (tonight, maybe). I hope it will work :) My laptop works perfectly with ubuntu, except this annoying dead touchpad after suspend/resume problem.


The V3205 basically is an SI1520 with different casing, therefore if your CPU is compatible with the V1.10 BIOS, you should solve the problem.
I have never tested the bios "trick" other than on my own laptop, so I can't really vouch for "general" compatibility, but I'm optimistic that you will solve.
Ciao!
Luca

Visit the Amilo SI1520 Blog!
User avatar
Sciamano
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:57 pm
Location: Milano, Italy
Notebook:
  • FSC Amilo SI1520

Postby zzs » Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:09 pm

Sciamano wrote:The V3205 basically is an SI1520 with different casing, therefore if your CPU is compatible with the V1.10 BIOS, you should solve the problem.
I have never tested the bios "trick" other than on my own laptop, so I can't really vouch for "general" compatibility, but I'm optimistic that you will solve.


Done :) I have a shiny new v1.10 bios :) The touchpad now works -partly- after resume. Partly means I can move it, but it does not recognize single tap clicks (but double finger tap (=middle click) works). Strange. I hope this is just an X configuration problem. I also have an usb external mouse plugged in the same time. (everithing else -wifi, sound etc- works perfectly, like before bios downgrade)
zzs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:14 pm

Postby Sciamano » Sun Mar 30, 2008 7:40 pm

zzs wrote:
Sciamano wrote:The V3205 basically is an SI1520 with different casing, therefore if your CPU is compatible with the V1.10 BIOS, you should solve the problem.
I have never tested the bios "trick" other than on my own laptop, so I can't really vouch for "general" compatibility, but I'm optimistic that you will solve.


Done :) I have a shiny new v1.10 bios :) The touchpad now works -partly- after resume. Partly means I can move it, but it does not recognize single tap clicks (but double finger tap (=middle click) works). Strange. I hope this is just an X configuration problem. I also have an usb external mouse plugged in the same time. (everithing else -wifi, sound etc- works perfectly, like before bios downgrade)


It's probably an X configuration problem, because mine works fine, and I don't think the touchpads in our respective laptops are any different!
Let me know if you solve.
Ciao!
Luca

Visit the Amilo SI1520 Blog!
User avatar
Sciamano
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:57 pm
Location: Milano, Italy
Notebook:
  • FSC Amilo SI1520


Return to Mainboard, BIOS, battery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron